We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!”
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #4 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed at the Tribe hotel for 6 nights. Tribe reminds me of a contemporary boutique hotel that one would find in New York City, but with an African flare. From the contemporary, African art draped lobby to the comfortable and sleek rooms, Tribe delivers an overall exceptional experience.

The room is full of amenities that would make a stay top quality, including a comfortable bed, large bathroom, rain shower, flat screen TV, Wi Fi, bottles of water, coffee/tea.

The staff are friendly and attentive, service is professional.

We went to Nest, the intimate outdoor rooftop lounge at the hotel. The bartenders have an arsenal of refreshing cocktails at their disposal. My absolute favourite is the passion fruit mojito!

The food at the hotel restaurant was delicious! Our only complain was it took a long time for the food to arrive at our table. The restaurant staff was very attentive and apologetic though.

One night I was alone for dinner, so I walked to Village Market by myself and I felt completely safe. Village Market is filled with little boutique stores, a supermarket, restaurants, a food court (with international food options.) We especially loved two stores, Kalabash and Kitengela (both stores have unique, good quality pieces that you won't find at other stores, or see over and over again at any Masai Market.)

I highly recommend this hotel for its great location, attentive service, comfortable rooms, and a long list of amenities. I am planning to return to Nairobi next year with some family and friends, we will definitely be staying at Tribe!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keja77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

827 - 833 of 963 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

This hotel looks very nice but the service is below par. We were very disappointed by the room that is too small and not very practical.
The food is very average and the spa is overpriced.
Breakfast was fine but not great.
Even the hotel bar looks nice but the food and the drinks are very average.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Dear Jodenice,

Thank you for your review dated June 28, 2011.

It is unfortunate that our room layout did not meet your expectations. However, being a boutique hotel, a number of our rooms in the same category differ in layout and so I hope you will be back for another Tribe experience.

We often run special offers in our Spa and would request that you inquire about them the next time you are here.

I apologize that you were disappointed with our service. We are currently reconstructing our entire kitchen and therefore have been operating from our much smaller banquet kitchen; this has resulted in minor delays in service. We plan to launch our new restaurant in September and hope that you will be back to experience it.

I thank you for taking the time in writing this review and please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time you are here.

Warm Regards,

Mark Somen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Tribe Hotel. My room overlooked the pool, which was lovely. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly, and the buffet dinner menu at the hotel was very varied and reasonable (US$27). I also loved the decor and all the African art that was displayed throughout the hotel. A bonus was the free WiFi.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharmaineNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Stayed here whilst on business. Lovely hotel and great staff - would recommend the conference facilities too. I was running a workshop and it was a nice environment.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ineedabreak2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I often visit Kenya for work, and so I vary my hotel visits. The last time I reviewed the hotel was back in 2010, and my initial impression was that it was a refreshing change for the more colonial hotels in Nairobi, but that it was in someways over stylised.

One year on and I felt that I had to write another review, as my recent experience was very disheartening. I don't know if the staff have lost interest or enthusiasum for this hotel, but I have never before been greeted with such nonchalance. Everything was done in their time rather than yours, and there was no sense of urgency about anything, even if you specifically asked for speed.

Check out took 15mins! My 'quick snack' of a pizza took 1.5 hours to arrive (they told me that as they had burnt the first one they were having to make me another!). The people on reception would constantly answer the phone, whilst I was standing in front of them trying to check in. I would routinely have to ask for drinks at breakfast several times before they appeared.

I realise that to some the above points may sound petty, but when you are on business, time is important, and for the price of this hotel, I don't think it is unfair to expect a standard of service, and enthusiasum that matched! I'll be going back to the Serena.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blyth76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

Dear Blyth76,

Thank you for your review dated June 17th 2011.

I am extremely sorry for your experience with us and I would like to assure you that the issues you raised are not at all petty. Not only did your experience fall short of your expectations but of ours as well. We are aware of the delays guests are experiencing with the check in and checkout procedures we currently have in place, we are working on implementing a whole new procedure which will allow us to achieve our 5 minutes check in and checkout standard.

We are currently reconstructing our entire main kitchen and therefore we have temporarily had to operate from our much smaller banquet kitchen thus resulting in delays with orders. This however is no excuse for you to have felt inconvenienced and I am sorry for this. I am however sure that you will be very impressed with our new restaurant which is due to launch in September and I truly wish that you will give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
I thank you for taking the time in writing this review and expressing your concerns. Your feedback is highly valued and each point raised has been taken very seriously and measures are being put in place to rectify them immediately.

I do hope you will be back to stay with us at Tribe soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in case of anything.

Kind Regards,

Mark Somen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The hotel is in a great place for shopping and also out of town - you may need to worry about traffic if you have other bussiness in town

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I had to spend 12 days in Nairobi for work and reservations were made for me at the Tribe. Upon arrival I was told that my reservation was not guaranteed and that I would have to stay somewhere else. Then the story changed, they had room for me for a few of the nights, then magically a room was available for the duration of my stay in Nairobi. I was, however, made to wait for a few hours (until 18:00) to be given a room. The first room I was given was good enough but the shower was open and when used, water got evrywhere, all over the toilet, forming puddles all over the floor. So unless you mopped the floor with a towel afterward, your feet would get all wet if you had to use the toilet. I moved to another room and the shower had a door which was nice. The toiletries smelled really nice. Each room has two french presses with little packets of delicious Kenyan coffee and a kettle. Two bottles of purified water and the coffee are replenished daily. There is an evening service that will replenish water and coffee too, and they set up your bed and leave some chocolates. There is a minibar that includes a few sodas and juices too. There is a pool and restaurant which i did not use. For dinner every day i ate at the village market next door. There is a supermarket there too. All in all the hotel was fine for my needs. Close to the UN and a few embassies.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joaoYreina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Dear JoaoYreina,

Thank you for your review dated June 13, 2011. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us and it is this critical information that helps us achieve excellence in all our offerings.

I am terribly sorry for any inconveniences you may have faced with your reservation. Looking back at the dates you stayed with us, the hotel was sold out and it is for that reason that we were not able to guarantee your entire stay, however we had you listed as priority which is why as our inventory opened up, we were able to give you first priority to additional nights. This however is no reason for you to have felt inconvenienced in any manner and i sincerely apologize for that.

Furthermore, we are aware of the flooding issue with some of our open plan rooms. I would like to assure you that this issue has now been rectified and drains have been put into place to stop the water from spreading out of the shower.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our amenities and complimentary mini bar services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Tribe soon, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if i can be of any assistance.

Kind Regards,

Mark Somen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,075 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
1,181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
932 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $188 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing