We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Right up until checkout ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Right up until checkout ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Agree with all other reviews - the Tribe is stunning, art, rooms, pool, meals, presentation, service, everything. (A bit pricey though at $235/night - at least that is what I paid.)

All was phenomenal right up until check-out when I seemed to descend into the cheapest hotel in town.

First, they swipe your credit card at check-in, very easy. Then you enjoy your stay. Comes time for you to check-out. Nothing under your door the morning of your check-out. Okay, not the end of the world, and maybe other "classy" hotels don't do that either.

But get to the front desk for your check-out ... unbelievable. (FYI: my experience below happened on 28 May 2011.

I was there at check-out time, 1PM. Had called for a taxi to meet me there at 1PM on a Saturday (to catch a 3PM flight - cutting it close as I found out, but I didn't know that).

Checkout: only three stations / terminals there for a hotel of that size - also for check-ins. Only one of the three stations appeared to be manned by an employee who knew what he was doing. The second was unmanned. The third was manned by an employee who was a obviously a trainee, and sought guidance for every keystroke. Very slow. Then the good employee finishes the laborious process for checking out another guest, and has to leave himself to go out front and arrange a cab for the person he just checked out. Huh? There were porters and bellman standing all over the place, but the one of two employees at the front desk (which also handled check-in's by the way), leaves to arrange a cab.

The worst part - there is a file folder - the old-fashioned kind - on the surface area next to the terminals. It has "Departures" written on it by hand in black marker. The clerk opens this file and manually, one enclosure at a time, shuffles through the enclosures, searching for the respective departees "put it on my tab" charges during the guests hotel stay. A bar bill, a restaurant bill, an arrival airport shuttle bill ($38.39, by the way - for the "salon car") Very time intensive, incredibly manual for a remarkably fine hotel - otherwise. He finally found the one drink I had at the bar. He found the cost of my limo from the airport. (Cost of a limo BACK to the airport, inexplicably, was USD$50, with no explanation.) He then keystroked each of those charges into the check-out system. I watched this all, incredulous. Then he goes back to the folder. "What are you looking for, please?" "Your charge when you checked in." He had to find the paper record of the charge receipt when I checked in, the pre-authorization swipe. He eventually found it among all the other departing guests bar tabs, rekeyed it in, and asked to swipe my credit card again.

Then all sorts of additional keystrokes. Eventually a printer printed out multiple sheets. Sheets were separated, some to one pile, some to another. Eventually a couple sheets were stapled together and presented to me for my signature, I had to sign in two places. Then the check-out clerk had to sign in two places, then a rubber stamp came out (yes, a rubber stamp), and all sort of stamps appeared all over the place. The documents were then laboriously folded and the envelope was presented to me. 1:30PM. (Yes, there had been ONE other guest in the check-out queue before me. But still an incredible period of time.)

Bottom line: maybe, maybe I caught them on a bad day. But their systems were up, the folder in which my "all my charges appeared wasn't new," and the fact that all charges during my 2 day trip were in there and stapled together with multiple backup sheets suggested it was SOP. No work-arounds appeared to being applied - that's just the way check-out worked.

All of this ruined what had been a first rate stay in a first rate (maybe world class) hotel. A shame.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobalVenturer2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear ColonelDad,

Thank you for your review dated May 29, 2011. We highly appreciate the time you have taken out to provide us with this feedback, and I assure you that each issue raised has been dealt with both seriously and carefully.

I apologize for the inconvenience you faced during your check out and I would like to take this opportunity in addressing some of your concerns:

1. There were two Receptionists and one trainee on shift when you were checking out; however it being lunch time, one had gone for lunch leaving just one receptionist and the trainee to man the desk. The queue situation occurred because the receptionist was placed in an unexpected position which required him to take longer than expected in checking out the previous guest. Please accept my sincere apologies for this as this is no excuse because at Tribe we strive to maintain a 5 minute check out procedure under any circumstances.

2. Being a hotel that only comprises of only 137 rooms, we organize registration and departure cards in files according to their room number, however this is no excuse for you to have felt a delay. We are however looking into an alternate system which can be put into place to avoid the unnecessary delay in the future.

3. Looking back at your airport pick up, it indicated that you were booked for a shuttle transfer which we charge at US$40. However, at the time of your pick up, the shuttle bus was not available which is why you were picked up in the Limousine (usually charged at US$50). As this was our oversight we charged you US$40 and offered complimentary transfers back to the hotel each evening for the duration of your stay.

4. By Kenyan law, it is required that we print out double copies of the bill as one is required for the guest and the other for Kenyan tax purposes. We ask our guests to sign these copies as a verification of the amount we are going to charge them in order to avoid any errors.

Once again, I would like to apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced with us and I can assure you that at Tribe we strive to exceed the needs of any traveler and hope you will give us the opportunity to do so in the near future. Nonetheless, I do appreciate that up to that point, you did enjoy the hotel – thank you for your kind words.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time you are here.

Best Regards,

Mark Somen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    215
    63
    16
    16
See reviews for
59
118
54
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

As a seasoned traveller, I spend a great deal of time in various hotels around the world, and Tribe ranks very highly amongst them. Tribe was both innovative and refreshing. It was such a wonderful surprise to find such a great hotel in such a great location. The staff are all extremely warm and inviting. Check in is a seamless experience. The rooms are warm and spacious. The decor is modern and the rooms are full of 'nice touches'. Clearly a great deal of thought has gone into the way that the hotel has been planned. Everything just works very well. There is a great swimming pool, and a fantastic open-air bar on the fourth floor with a bit of a Moroccan feel to it. Well worth a visit. There is also a large market just a short stroll from the main entrance. It was a great place to explore for a few hours. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to business travellers and holidaymakers alike.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerUAEDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Attentive service; clean; comfortable; excellent breakfast spread; high-speed connections; modern; proximity to village market; tight security; well-designed pools; lack of African authenticity; overpriced; small beds

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the pool(s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maevum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

It's a given that if this sort of deco "African chic" appeals to you, then Tribe is very impressive and is bound to blow you away, on the onset it's absolutely gorgeous. However I cannot say the same for mine and my family's stay! We reseved one night's accommodation and in making the reservation, I requested an extra bed for my son to be put up at turn-down. Well, when we arrived at the hotel at 11.00pm after an exhausting day, no turn-down, no extra bed, not enough towels for the number of people in the room. Mistakes are a given, it's what you do about them that counts. We all 3 of us sat on the main bed for 45mins waiting for the bed and linen. The air con wouldn't turn off so we had to call maintenance at almost midnight. In the morning I ordered room service for breakfast which the said would take 15 mins (cereal and pastries) it took 45mins, they had run out of low fat milk. If you charge a premium rate, back it up with premium service!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tselo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Tselo,
Thank you for your review dated 3rd April 2011. At Tribe, we strive to maintain a benchmark of excellence in all of our offerings and your critical feedback is vitally important to us and much appreciated.
I would like to take this opportunity to address some of the setbacks you faced during your stay with us:

1. As a general hotel policy we do not provide turn down service in late arrival rooms as most guests prefer for this not to be done prior to their arrival – however when specially requested we are more than happy to provide this service for you. You are absolutely right that we should have been proactive and had the bed, as requested, and enough towels in the room, for the appropriate number of people.

2. Air-conditioning issues. Tselo, in a 5 Star hotel, you should expect working Air Conditioning – my apologies that it wasn’t working. Unfortunately we often get AC issues when we have power fluctuations and black-outs.

3. We are currently in the process of re-doing our main restaurant and kitchen which is why guests are facing temporary delays in services. However, we are working on how to make all services, especially Room Service, more efficient so as to avoid delays. We are looking forward to having a brand new kitchen and re-launched restaurant in June.

I personally apologize for your experience and request that you contact me directly the next time you are here.

Kind Regards,

Mark Somen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

If you are particular about cleanliness and like a modern hotel, this is the hotel for you. The design is African chic and the service was really good. Stayed for one night and if I were to go to Nairobi again I would definately stay at Tribe.

Read reviews online prior to travelling. The only concern really was what I read about the bathrooms being open on to the room. I need to mention that the bath and sink are open onto the room whereas the toilet and shower are in a closed section of the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I went to Nairobi full of preconceptions about the city, and I was proved completely wrong. I actually loved it, and whilst it will never ever be a holiday highlight of your trip to Kenya (well, given that it is competing against fabulous wildlife and stunning beach destinations, I think that is acceptable !), there is no need to be scared about spending one or even 2 nights here at the start of your holiday, to recover from any lack of sleep from an overnight flight so that you are refreshed and ready for the early mornings that are required for a safari !

I stayed for one night at Tribe, which is in a pleasant green suburb across town from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. I hit morning rush hour traffic when I arrived (I landed at 6.30 am, so by the time I cleared Customs and Immigration it was nearly 8 am when I emerged into the Nairobi sunshine) - and rush hour traffic in Nairobi is pure bedlam. We sat in a stationary traffic jam, and it took over an hour to reach the hotel. There seems to be no rules on the road - if you see a gap, you drive straight for it, regardless of whether you are cutting anyone up or not. It made for an exciting transfer, anyway.

Tribe itself is the epitomy of ‘urban chic’ - it is a large, new hotel, situated right opposite a small parade of shops and restaurants, so ideal if you wanted a quick shopping fix. When you approach the hotel from the road, it looks a bit daunting - it is a mass of brown concrete, and you may wonder what on earth you have booked … but once you enter the reception area, you forget all this, and you immediately get a great vibe from the hotel.

My room was very spacious - a large kingsize bed with crisp white linen awaits you, and a desk in case you need to write a postcard as soon as you arrive, and an open bathroom with a freestanding oval bath, double basins, and a separate closed off walk in shower and toilet.

The swimming pool is beautiful - during the day, there is a pool bar, and at night, it is all beautifully lit - really stunning. The bar is elegant and trendy, and the restaurant food was extremely good.

The staff were friendly throughout - the check in went smoothly, the check out equally so, even the bar staff and restaurant staff had a laugh and a joke with you.

I was only here one night, but I would definately come back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelButlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

It is the most wonderfully stylish, smart and accommodating hotel, and very well located within Nairobi. The finish of the decor and the quality of service here is above what you get is almost every other hotel in Nairobi. The staff are well-spoken, well trained and very attentive. I felt immediately comfortable and very at home alongside the hotel's chique-ness.
The bitings/food at our cocktail party was not only very unique and intriguing in it's presentation but it was delicious. If I can stay here again I will definitely do so, at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorginaGoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing