We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place, ambience, food”

Havana Bar & Restaurante
Ranked #54 of 567 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome place, ambience, food”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Havana is tucked inconspicuously on a Westlands side street, which only adds to the awesomeness of its low-key character and chill vibes. Dinner was excellent, great value at under 1000 shillings a plate for generous portions of properly prepared meat and tex-mex. Funky artwork adds to the character, especially upstairs in the smokers' lounge. Service was a little slow, but not horrible, and our waitress was good with recommendations. All in all, a very welcome addition to Nairobi.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Canabro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    65
    21
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Havana nights”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great atmosphere, great food and great prices. Always a busy / fun / party atmosphere. With a lovely hidden den of a restaurant at the back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Expensive reasonably priced whisky served badly!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Tried Havana Bar with my good friend for decent whiskies. We were given a reasonable price until the bill came. The manageres had an attitude and the initial lady then changed her story, but still gave an other price than the bill. I don't mind paying for good whiskey, but employees should know their facts and management should remember that good and fair customer service keep existing-and bring new patrons.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Crixxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“your typical pub”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Food was ok, service at par. It was a bit empty on a Sunday night. probably not the best time to visit this place. I was told that on Wed, Thu is packed with great atmosphere.
If you are walking there from your hotel you have to keep an eye on the shops as you can easily pass by this pub and not notice it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cosmopolice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“little hidden secret”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

first of all its not as easy to locate this restaurant, not because its hidden, infact its just on the road. you would pass it by looking for something big and eyecatching, i guess thats whats good about it. going in you first see a pub but dont be quick to leave because theres a very nice little cosy lounge at the back. the smoking zone is upstairs so you have the choice. the lounge is so cosy and warm it was amazing. i will take pics next time.
now, about the food. out of this world, and if the chef reads this, dude you are absolutely amazing! if ever i had good chicken or steak, it has to be in Havanna. I could honestly say the cocktail juice was a little bit more sugary than expected but everything else is great. If you walk into havannah and pick their menu, expect it to taste as good as it reads!! Happy eating lol!!
this has now become my favourite joint in westlands. after eating you can just hang out there you dont have to go look for another place. i hope you like it as much as i do.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Bar & Restaurante also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Havana Bar & Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing