We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artcaffe

Artcaffe
Ranked #1 of 20 Coffee & Tea in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

In all aspects, service and food are very good, dont expect anything from Kenya there only European and US food so if you feel a taste of home go there clientele is young and local yuppies.
The mall deserves a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThierryC2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    269
    75
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Go for your shopping at west gate, start with a snack or branch at artcaffe and this will kick start your shopping spree here. I love this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Racist Establishment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Art Caffe is a racist establishment. Black people are treated differently and they are lucky if they even get service. White people are shown to a table as soon as they arrive while black people are left to "fend for themselves." Boycott Art Caffe. Racism has no place in the 21st century.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Grace146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Racist maître d’hôtel at Westgate branch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The non-African maitre d seemed more interested in flirting with isolated female patrons of the cafe, rather than working along his job description. I sat there with intention to do my work, and could hear him blatantly voicing his dislike of my kind of folk there (I’m a bearded Sikh). I immediately packed up and left, on the way out I told one of the friendly waiters that I could hear everything he said.

But the waiters and waitresses of African descent are awesome as all Kenyans can be; the giant of a doorman has a beautiful smile!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Joeblogs235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Was in artcaffe at the junction some time back. Took waiters twenty minutes to serve us and i noticed some caucasians who came in after us were served promptly. I never took it to heart until this morning when i heard a customer was harrased for trying to buy 8 croissants. Reason given by mgt: his order was large so they told him that had to be pre-ordered. and they actually told him that they wont sell to him coz he is black. Really now !!! 8 croissants have to be pre-ordered ?! And what do croissants have to do with a customer being black? And on complaining, they call the cops on him!!! That was in really bad taste. Horrible horrible horrible !!! Would not recommend anyone if they continue with this racism!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
17 Thank Brenian85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artcaffe also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Artcaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing