We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, serice, service, speed up the service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Artcaffe

Artcaffe
Westgate, Mwanzi Road, Parklands, Nairobi, Kenya
717193895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Dessert in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service, serice, service, speed up the service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I use the Artcaffes regularly, the food is generally a good 4 star, the milk shakes are great and I love the Mango yogart.
The Breakfasts are good but I don't understand why I have to have a green salad and can't change it for a fruit salad, I don't want green first thing in the morning.
Coffee is good.
But the Service...
Oh Lord give me patience. Nay Lord go one better - help them speed it up, it's not just a one off it is every visit and is the same in all their outlets. The problem is institutional and I have stopped going for a quick coffee 'coz the beast just doesn't exist.
If time is not an issue then you'll enjoy it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 967Andy_Dale967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    236
    53
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food in a Far-Away Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Traveling half-way around the world to meet our daughter in Nairobi we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and the reasonable prices at Artcaffe. The service is excellent and the place is up to standard with nice places around LA, California where we come from. The atmosphere is nice and you can sit inside or out on the patio. The freshly baked and sliced bread to go is a real plus, too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bajadiver770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
277 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Good for meetings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The cheesecake was a bit heavy, but the coffee was good. As for ambiance, well, its in a shopping mall, but that seems to be the form these days - and at least there is an outside balcony, even if it overlooks ... the car park! Its a little pricey, I think, but given how busy it is, that doesn't seem to bother most people.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank senti2comun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique Experience of Coffee, Food, and Ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very nice ambiance with Good service, Excellent Food and Very Unique Coffee! Nice place to be with Family, Friends and Business associates. Real Old World Charm!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Him C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

So, the selection is confusing to be very honest. I went there to have a quick coffee as i waited to meet a friend. First, i have never used the 'free wifi' they say they have! What the hell! It was down the entire time and every other time ive been there before. Then i ordered what i thought would be an easy order, coffee and a pastry. Well i waited an hour! My friend came and we sat waiting! So after asking for the waiter 5 times, they just ignored me until finally i go my order. The food was nothing special. And after i was done, the bill took just as long! Tisk tisk!
I wasnt impressed

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elenor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artcaffe also viewed

 

Been to Artcaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing