We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Refreshing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artcaffe

Artcaffe
Ranked #1 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Refreshing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

After living for several years in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, and a week at a conference/retreat centre north of Nairobi, coming to Artcaffe at the Village Market for dinner was a refreshing experience! Wonderful ambiance, decor, and service. Nice variety of offerings on the menu. The food was good, but not quite what we expected. My wife found her chicken dish rather dry, and my Chicken Caesar salad featured limp rather than crisp salad and a dressing that was decidedly not like any Caesar dressing I've ever had. But all in all, a good meal and a pleasant evening.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    262
    70
    24
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
359 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Great people watching and wonderful ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

So stumbled upon Cafe Brasserie by Art Caffe while roaming around the Village Market. It's light and airy and has a great balcony overlooking the shoppers coming and going. They offer light breakfasts, take aways, great sandwiches and salads and casual dinners with wine and beer choices. The desserts looked wonderful but had no room for them after dinner. Good choice if you are staying at the Tribe Hotel and want something different or if shopping in the area and decide you need a coffee fix! The Village Market is extremely safe as you will see lots of armed security everywhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zinniaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Fine if you don't mind hanging out with mzungus!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was really unsure about this place when I first arrived in Nairobi, and whilst I'm still wary of how many mzungus are there, I do enjoy it as a place to get lost in the crowd and read my book for an hour or 2.

Food is good, though it caters to a Western palette, and the pastries are a guaranteed winner. For main meals we usually opt somewhere else in Nairobi - there are so many great places that this quickly seems dull to us. But for a Sunday morning pastry and a coffee, or as a refuge to sip a fruit juice and read, Artcaffe hits the spot.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great days' start”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This place has great light breakfasts and lunches. Its unusual food and great coffees, all at a very fair price. I'm here often.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Overrated, overpriced, ordinary menu”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I'm probably the only Mzungu in Kenya that doesn't like Artcaffe. Full of pretentious people playing with their laptops and smartphones, I find very little to recommend it. Because it's THE place to be seen it can be difficult to find a table. The menu is uninspiring, and generally poor value. For example, a chicken schnitzel is a couple of bits of breaded chicken, and a few chips. That's it. For a 25% premium over a decent meal at Havana or Mercury. Breakfast, in particular, is terrible ... no option of a "full English", bits 'n' pieces on an airline-style tray with little holes in it, maybe a sausage and some kind of Mediterranean salad. Quite dreadful, even Java does a passable breakfast. Staff try to be attentive, but often mix up orders or you don't get exactly what you ordered. Can't recommend it at all. All the above is true of the newer outlets at the Junction and Galleria too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artcaffe also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Artcaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing