We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place but recomended for budget travelers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Embassy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Embassy
Ranked #93 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place but recomended for budget travelers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

The room was clean and quite big. Hotel is perfect if you need a place to sleep and leave you luggage. It's located in the city center so you can find shops, reastaurants, ATM not far from the hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Embassy is a realy good choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blenden_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
10
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I spent 3 night in hotel embassy and it was really good..the room was clean and the bed was comfortable..the bathroom was a little bit old but it work..the staff was helpful and nice
it is just in front of city markets and near restaurants and supermarkets.
I recommend it to a budget travelers who need a place for sleep and showers

Room Tip: try to get a room in higher floors and away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebrahim-ElCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed at embassy hotel on 2 occasion in september both just for one night, the day we picked up our 4x4 for a self drive safari & 10 days later when we returned 4x4 & waited to fly home the next night. Having been in East Africa for previous 3 weeks travelling up from Zanzibar it was the first pre-booked accommodation where there wasnt a problem of some sort on arrival. We had only booked that day & when we turned up everything was swiftly dealt with, with a smile by a lovely old gentleman on the desk, within 10 minutes we were in our room having our first hot shower in days. As we found out on our 2nd stay the hot water isnt permanent & our 2nd stay after 10 days on safari was greatly let down by no hot water, but this time we had not booked & just turned up. The hotel sorted security for the 4x4 with a small charge of £1 to the local security guard to watch through the night. The hot water issue should not disract you away from this hotel as most budget hotels in east africa only had temporary if any hot water. The place was safe, clean, mosi nets provided & I would say on both occasions good beds. There isnt much space in the room as african beds are big & fill most of it. The wifi is slow in rooms but better in halls & reception. There is a restaurant but we never ate there so could not comment. As for the area being dangerous at night on both occasions me & my son stayed out past midnight at one of the 4 bars nearby & never felt threatened or seen any threatening activity what so ever either in bars or on way to/from the hotel. There are a lot of banks/busineses in the area so there is a security guard every 5 minutes on the adjoining streets & at least 3 security guards on street the Embassy is on. In front of the embassy is a gift/meat market not sure about the meat but the market sells the same African trinkets sold all over East Africa so its a good place on your last day for buying all the things you have seen without carrying them round with you before you fly home from Nairobi. The hotel is close to the center of Nairobi with plenty of banks, shops, food & bars nearby plus 5 minutes walk to local park & 15 minutes walk to Museum/University. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of hotel as the view of the city center is better than that of the adjoining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M00kster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I spent 2 nights here (A Monday and Tuesday night) and had no issues the entire time. If you talk to the staff they are really great. The staff at the restaurant are wonderful, the front desk staff are willing to help with any problems you may have, and the manager was wonderful. The room was clean and practical for a trip to Nairobi where you really only need a place to leave your stuff and sleep. I was in a double room and it had a desk, cabinet for hanging a jacket or clothes, and a nice bathroom with a large shower. It is only about a 15 - 20 minute walk away from the National Museum of Kenya which is worth checking out if your in the area. The only issues some people may find is that it is near a busy road that has cars and people on it all night long. The noise isn't really bad unless you really need close to absolute silence to fall asleep. Overall, no complaints and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gliwice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just simplest place to stay in Nairobi. Good for budget travelers.
There is free wi-fi (rather slow), restaurant, they can organize taxi to airport for 2000KES (Oct 2013).
Located opposite market where you can buy souvenirs, also close to supermarkets where you can pay credit cards. Rather expensive if I compare to similar standard hostels in Central Europe, however East Africa is rather expensive place for tourists.
I didn't find anything cheaper with minimum facilities around. I'd likely return there if looking for accommodation in Nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kszabelski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I spent 4 nights there before returning back to Egypt .really like the double room I took with my friend , basic, clean and perfect for its price .
Friendly people ( even when we caused them some troubles due to misbehavior of a drunken friend )
The major advantage is the location, you will be close to everything as its almost at the city center of Nairobi.
Recommended for budget traveler .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egysioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stay 25 nights in this hotel,and I feel very comfortable!
The location is very convenient,the restaurants are very close to the hotel,for breakfast I recommend Noma Cafe,for lunch Chester House,and for dinner any...
Nothing to complain for the Hotel Embassy,the personal is quiet and prompt
The price is the best from Nairobi from far away
Thank you Embassy!

Room Tip: Near wireless router always
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Metro Nairobi
Hotel Metro Nairobi
#121 of 161 in Nairobi
2.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#66 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#111 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#102 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#86 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Embassy

Property: Hotel Embassy
Address: Tubman Road | Opposite City Market-City Centre, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy is an established long serving hotel in the heart of Nairobi. Centrally located accommodating a homely atmosphere away from home. All our rooms are self contained, serviced with free WiFi, hot water and telephone facilities for the convenience of our guests. Within our establishment is a fully-fledged Restaurant that caters from Continental, Chinese, and Indian to Traditional African meal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing