We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spectacularly bad experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Embassy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Embassy
Ranked #91 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Spectacularly bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed as a group of 7 people from 2 families in 3 rooms. Early problems included no working electrical sockets (but changed rooms, no probs), no hot water until 6pm (not mentioned anywhere in the hotel's blurb) which is a pain when you arrive dusty and hot. Basic rooms and facilities and good for downtown Nairobi, but two further problems....

I know downtown Nairobi can be noisy and traffic etc I can live with, but we had a preacher screaming into some very loud speakers in the adjoining building from 10.30pm Friday night, complete with very enthusiastic congregation. Sadly this was a Kenyan length service which meant that he was still screaming at 3.30am and still chuntering at 5.00am resulting in zero sleep for me and very broken sleep for others. No-one to deal with the problem (though not sure what they could have done).

Slightly more concerning was being propositioned by a prostitute on the stairs (I know when someone says I'm a good looking man and it's a pity she can't spend time with me that I haven't turned into Brad Pitt). Can't tell if this was an extra service offered by the hotel or a piece of freelance opportunism but if the latter it doesn't speak to great security. Possibly should have bailed out then but I just wanted some sleep and not have to start sourcing new hotels late at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeoffChall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galib R, Owner at Hotel Embassy, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Travelers
We the management of Hotel Embassy are truly sorry to learn of the review and incident that occurred for our guests.
We have reported to the authorities concerned in regards to noise pollution and have learnt that the building that is 2 blocks away hosts a church that performs on the last Friday of every month. It is unfortunate that our guests were there and it has happened for the first time since our operations.
The matter is being looked into and will be addressed by the authorities.
As for the woman approaching our guest for unwanted service, it is addressed and after investigating the issue we have learnt that the woman was going to the restaurant and not in the corridors of the rooms.
We take much pride in running our hotel and we once again assure all our customers that all measures are put in place to guarantee your comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
10
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holtsville, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel along with four other friends and we took up three rooms. The hotel is clean but a little bit run down looking. The price wasn't terrible and the restaurant in the hotel was decent with very cheap food. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating; the manager of the hotel even allowed us to store our extra baggage at there hotel while we went out on a safari for two nights and were not staying with there hotel. I would recommend staying at this hotel if you are looking for a budget hotel with some of the best staff I have dealt with while staying in Kenya

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljubljana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We found Hotel Embassy as a good and safe base in Nairobi. The hotel has a basic rooms, but have everything you will need – hot water, tv, mosquito net, even free WI FI in the room, which was excellent. Best thing is location near the supermarket, where you can find everything you will need 24/7 every day (but don't go out after dark – it is still Nairobi). The managers of the hotel are super friendly and you can even leave your valuables in their safe. Close to the hotel are also many travel agencies for arranging safaris. If you are on the budget and looking for safe hotel in good location, this is a definitely good deal for you.

Room Tip: we had a room on the top floor with street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were joining an intrepid tour at hotel kivi millimani, but after checking prices we decided not to stay there for the extra night we wre in Nairobi prior to the meet up night. Nairobi is much more expensive than I'd expected (over 100$ for mid range hotels). Hotel embassy is in the city centre area, around the corner from banks, exchange offices and a few restaurants and coffee shops. This area boasts well priced and decent food options (for a night or two, anyway). It feels safe enough (as a couple) but this is Africa, you will be the centre of attention as a white person. Some other tourists around though. The hotel is very affordable for Nairobi ($45usd) and the rooms are basic but clean. Mosquito nets provided, luggage room too. There is a restaurant in the hotel that we did not try. The staff is English speaking and one guy (owner perhaps) was very informative and friendly. Staff also responsive on email for booking. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eMzdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

...but its a sad indictment of other Nairobi hotels that this place offers a decent value for money option. Possibly not the safest area at night for women but it is fairly central and staff are friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YWAlco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

we closed price on phone , when we came the price was 25% higher!! probably because we are "white".

they didn't let us see the room before we will pay..

very bad atitude of the reception there,

keep away!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nadav m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Corfu, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Please, listen to my advice: do not stay in this hotel! Wonder why? Answer is in three simple words: Dirty! Dirty! Dirty!
I was there two weeks ago and this was worst experience in my entire life. Can you imagine that I paid to sleep in such coop? They should pay you if you make it till the end of the night!
You can not look through the window because of many layers of dirt. I couldn't even take off my clothes when I wanted to go to bed because the sheet was so dirty. Bathroom is terrible! I could not even close the bathroom door because the toilet was positioned in the strange way and water was leaking from it. And, when I wanted to have a shower there was no hot water! Of course, bathtub does not exist. Opposite the leaking toilet is just a shower with a bucket underneath, so that a water you used during a shower could be collected in this bucket. How exciting, isn’t it?! But if you want a real fun, try to turn on the TV (yes this room has one)!
So, do I have to repeat: DIRTY ROOM!
For your own sake, do not stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DejanAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Metro Nairobi
Hotel Metro Nairobi
#120 of 161 in Nairobi
2.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#67 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#111 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#121 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#97 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Embassy

Property: Hotel Embassy
Address: Tubman Road | Opposite City Market-City Centre, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy is an established long serving hotel in the heart of Nairobi. Centrally located accommodating a homely atmosphere away from home. All our rooms are self contained, serviced with free WiFi, hot water and telephone facilities for the convenience of our guests. Within our establishment is a fully-fledged Restaurant that caters from Continental, Chinese, and Indian to Traditional African meal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing