We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Safe hotel in the center of Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Embassy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Embassy
Save
You added Hotel Embassy to your Saves list
Tubman Road | Opposite City Market-City Centre, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
ljubljana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Safe hotel in the center of Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We found Hotel Embassy as a good and safe base in Nairobi. The hotel has a basic rooms, but have everything you will need – hot water, tv, mosquito net, even free WI FI in the room, which was excellent. Best thing is location near the supermarket, where you can find everything you will need 24/7 every day (but don't go out after dark – it is still Nairobi). The managers of the hotel are super friendly and you can even leave your valuables in their safe. Close to the hotel are also many travel agencies for arranging safaris. If you are on the budget and looking for safe hotel in good location, this is a definitely good deal for you.

Room Tip: we had a room on the top floor with street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
10
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were joining an intrepid tour at hotel kivi millimani, but after checking prices we decided not to stay there for the extra night we wre in Nairobi prior to the meet up night. Nairobi is much more expensive than I'd expected (over 100$ for mid range hotels). Hotel embassy is in the city centre area, around the corner from banks, exchange offices and a few restaurants and coffee shops. This area boasts well priced and decent food options (for a night or two, anyway). It feels safe enough (as a couple) but this is Africa, you will be the centre of attention as a white person. Some other tourists around though. The hotel is very affordable for Nairobi ($45usd) and the rooms are basic but clean. Mosquito nets provided, luggage room too. There is a restaurant in the hotel that we did not try. The staff is English speaking and one guy (owner perhaps) was very informative and friendly. Staff also responsive on email for booking. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eMzdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

...but its a sad indictment of other Nairobi hotels that this place offers a decent value for money option. Possibly not the safest area at night for women but it is fairly central and staff are friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YWAlco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

we closed price on phone , when we came the price was 25% higher!! probably because we are "white".

they didn't let us see the room before we will pay..

very bad atitude of the reception there,

keep away!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nadav m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Corfu, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Please, listen to my advice: do not stay in this hotel! Wonder why? Answer is in three simple words: Dirty! Dirty! Dirty!
I was there two weeks ago and this was worst experience in my entire life. Can you imagine that I paid to sleep in such coop? They should pay you if you make it till the end of the night!
You can not look through the window because of many layers of dirt. I couldn't even take off my clothes when I wanted to go to bed because the sheet was so dirty. Bathroom is terrible! I could not even close the bathroom door because the toilet was positioned in the strange way and water was leaking from it. And, when I wanted to have a shower there was no hot water! Of course, bathtub does not exist. Opposite the leaking toilet is just a shower with a bucket underneath, so that a water you used during a shower could be collected in this bucket. How exciting, isn’t it?! But if you want a real fun, try to turn on the TV (yes this room has one)!
So, do I have to repeat: DIRTY ROOM!
For your own sake, do not stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DejanAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Central
Location but surrounding area looks creepy at night. Average price with average size room. Basic facilities with a restaurant but the day I stayed there they didn't open to serve. Nairobi is expensive place this hotel is a good choice for budget travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasterJin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

stayed one night en route to masai mara.just what i wanted, somewhere to bunk down.
the room was nice and neat and quite.the bed and pillow was just right.
the staff and management were absolutely terrific and solved the problem i had with the pick up service to wilson airport. i would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janet074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#110 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#104 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#58 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#66 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#49 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Oakwood Hotel
#62 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Embassy

Property: Hotel Embassy
Address: Tubman Road | Opposite City Market-City Centre, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy is an established long serving hotel in the heart of Nairobi. Centrally located accommodating a homely atmosphere away from home. All our rooms are self contained, serviced with free WiFi, hot water and telephone facilities for the convenience of our guests. Within our establishment is a fully-fledged Restaurant that caters from Continental, Chinese, and Indian to Traditional African meal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing