We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not perfect but defn. better than The Carnivore...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo Gaucho

Fogo Gaucho
Ranked #3 of 479 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $200 - $250
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, Barbecue, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fogo Gaucho is Nairobi's Favourite Steakhouse set up in a beautiful ambience that gives a feel as though you are in a corner of South Brazil. If you are looking for a prime dining experience in a stylish, ambient environment either for a family outing, business lunch meeting or office party, Fogo Gaucho offers top class service to fit any occasion and a playground for children everyday.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not perfect but defn. better than The Carnivore...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Been to Fogo Gaucho several times & prefer it to the other eat-meat-till-you-drop restaurants such as Carnivore, Safari Park & Pampa Churascaria]....

Raves;
- Wide range of well prepared meats.
- Wide variety of salads & appetizers.
- Small & somewhat intimate compared to their counterparts.

Rants;
- Service is somewhat wanting ; the meat servers are always in a hurry, most rarely bother to explain/elaborate the dishes they're serving, drink waiters always need to be reminded to replenish drinks, we ordered ice cream for desert and it took too long to arrive.
- Poor choice of location ; crowded entrance & hardly any parking inside Viking House.
- Ambiance needs an upgraded.
- Lacks in-house entertainment which would be a good add-on [ a band, pianist, background music etc].

Tip ; Tends to get very busy so you might want to make a reservation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FearlessInfluencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    244
    45
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very tasty meat and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Since we are always on the lookout to try and find a place that offers nice cooked meat meat, we decided to give Fogo Gaucho a try! Am always picky when it comes to the meat that am being served(don't like the fat much). The meat did not take long long to arrive and it was very yummy and juicy, the bar provided us with a variety of options to drink later on. Parking is also adequate and safe, we did not have to go far looking for a place to park.
Will definitely go again next Friday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZetuSolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great service & great cuts of meat, cooked to perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We ate here after an unsatisfying meal at the carnivore (we are big meat eaters and the rest of our trip had chewy goat). Don't even bother withthe carnivore. they no longer have any wild game since Kenya law forbids it now.

the food here was great. much better attention to the cooking than the fire pits at carnivore. We loved the garlic beef but all the meats were delicious and not too well done, not too rare (or raw as at the carnivore) the salad bar was also great.

towards the end of the meal someone came over to find out what meats we might be waitning for and brought these over

we had the set menu and a few large bottles of water for four people. the bill came to about 9500KSH or US$115. a real bargain compaired to the carnivore!

I'd eat here again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank twinfallspuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
286 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great alternative to Carnivore for far less!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were visiting friends in Nairobi who took us to Fogo Gaucho as an alternative to the Carnivore. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Great salad bar with LOTS of options. And, the meat that was brought to the table on large skewers was wonderful. It doesn't have the same ambience as Carnivore, and it doesn't offer all the unusual African game meat, but if you're in Nairobi and in the mood for a lot of meat, it's a great place to visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank africanaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Such a treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

yummy meats though some were tough. The crocodile was impossible. The sweet fried banana was such a treat! Attentive wait staff and warm atmosphere. The best part of this experience was the pineapple/cinnamon desert. This is a restaurant I will be going back to again. Great value for money.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mokandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo Gaucho also viewed

 

Been to Fogo Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing