We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Alternative to Carnivore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo Gaucho

Fogo Gaucho
Ranked #3 of 475 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $200 - $250
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, Barbecue, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fogo Gaucho is Nairobi's Favourite Steakhouse set up in a beautiful ambience that gives a feel as though you are in a corner of South Brazil. If you are looking for a prime dining experience in a stylish, ambient environment either for a family outing, business lunch meeting or office party, Fogo Gaucho offers top class service to fit any occasion and a playground for children everyday.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Alternative to Carnivore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Very good food and a lot of it. About $20 US for the unlimited meat. The only exotic is crocodile. Beautiful rare beef. Lamb, prawns, pirk ribs and shoulder, chicken legs, top sirloin.
The fried sweet banana is really good, but the French fries are soggy. They did have Heinz ketchup.
The salad bar has twenty salads, all pretty good. Tiny new potatoes are not red, but brown.
I wasn't crazy about the crocodile. Very tough. We asked for sharper knives, but no joy.
For dessert they have grilled pineapple with brown sugar. Delicious.
Reasonably priced drinks, too.
The decor is a little tired. It's on an older colonial tiled roof building.
Our service was excellent, maybe because we went at 6:30 when they opened, and they weren't busy. Very friendly and efficient.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sbmargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    234
    42
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“eat 'till you drop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Good meat, plenty of it!
Good service.
Excellent value for money.
Pity there is little game meat to try.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ECO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mundane...disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Took the family for dinner after making a booking by email. Service was very erratic and at some point I had to ask three different waiters for drinks and the bill. One gets the feeling they are at an assembly plant (get fed, move on, get out) perhaps owing to over booking.

The back dining area feels like an afterthought and stands in stark contrast to the from which looks the better furnished and decorated.

Biggest shock was the rubbish area in plain view on the way to the washroom. Great salad offering and the food is good - but a big disconnect with the service and ambiance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Djinn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm County, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect for a fun casual evening, not romantic not business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

All the meat you can eat. It is not expensive. A dinner costs about 2500 Ksh/person incl. beverages, only around 20 € or 30 $.

I found the meat to be good, especially the beaf. Seafood was not exciting. They also have a big chees you can dig into. Try it was great! So was the sallad buffet.

We came around 8pm without a reservation and got a table right away.

The taxi driver didn´t know where the restaurant was so remember the adress or just Viking House.
In summary; It is not a star restaurant but it is value for your money!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nahoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"It's even better now"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Having previously been here twice for lunch, visited Fogo Gaucho for dinner on 30th Jan for dinner with friends. Being a week day we did not think that reservation was needed and were pleasantly surprised to find a full house with all the tables occupied, the staff offered to accommodate us in the adjoining dining hall which was also nearly full, when we expressed our preference for a table in the restaurant, a table was promptly set up behind the hostess desk. The food, the service and the ambiance with a strong mix of expats and locals was much endearing than some expensive touristy outlets in Nairobi. We did observe that everybody was having fun, happy waiters included.
I recommend Fogo Gaucho to every carnivore without hesitation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rudyvoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo Gaucho also viewed

 

Been to Fogo Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing