We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all you can eat meat galore”
Review of Fogo Gaucho

Fogo Gaucho
Ranked #3 of 557 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $200 - $250
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fogo Gaucho is Nairobi's Favourite Steakhouse set up in a beautiful ambience that gives a feel as though you are in a corner of South Brazil. If you are looking for a prime dining experience in a stylish, ambient environment either for a family outing, business lunch meeting or office party, Fogo Gaucho offers top class service to fit any occasion and a playground for children everyday.
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great all you can eat meat galore”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

A very nice experience with good friends. All you can eat for great meat and a buffet of side dishes. Not expensive

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    311
    63
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Obrigato Fogo Gaucho!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My group had a delightful dinner at Fogo Gaucho, grant it it's not Porcao in Rio but I highly recommend a visit when in Nairobi. Fogo is smaller, and more intimate than Carnivore and we enjoyed that. On a Tuesday night, the restaurant was full with locals and tourists, a very lively and friendly atmosphere. The meal started with chicken and beef empanadas delivered by James our server. Tusker, Guinness and a Simonsig Labyrinth 2007 Cabernet were our beverages of choice. The wine was great, although a bit overpriced. There is a nice salad bar that I glanced at, but did not partake. I wanted to save all my stomach space for the main event!

ALL of the meats served were grilled to perfection, beef, chicken, pork, croc, sausages (pork and beef), and grilled prawns. Sides were fries (chips) and fried bananas (maduros). Very tasty!! My favorites were the garlic beef, and the pork sausages. Keep your tag on green, so the waiters will constantly stop by and deliver new delicacies. Very efficient service.

The experience ends with slices of juicy fresh pineapple with cinnamon cut from the skewer. A refreshing end to a great meal.

When in Nairobi, skip Carnivore and visit Fogo Gaucho. Enjoy meat lovers!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinceonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Restaurant”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great service, quite fast, fresh salads with a stand-by assistant. great ribs at the end...wonderful place

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A fabulous restaurant with superb meat variety. Everything was cooked to perfection and was absolutely delicious. Be sure to try grilled bananas and pineapple with cinnamon for dessert - mouthwatering and a terrific finale to a meat orgy. The salad bar featured huge variety of salads and appetizers but be sure to leave room for meat.

The restaurant also represented a great value - a hard find in overpriced Nairobi. The dinner inclusive of tips and taxi was substantially less than dinners in our hotel. Fantastic!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meat! Meat! Meat!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was a good experience, right at the door a warm welcome, the ambience was wow, loved the music, the staff quite friendly, the salads just amazing,oh the coleslaw was my favorite.
Here comes the meat... delicious!!!! I had this and that and this and that and yah I had enough such a lovely meal. mhhh yum yum.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Namz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo Gaucho also viewed

 

Been to Fogo Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing