We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Thai food where you would least expect it”

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Ranked #20 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Real Thai food where you would least expect it”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Let's face it - you don't travel to Kenya to eat Thai Food, right ? But when you live here, or come here for business, it is a nice treat. This is how it needs to be seen. The food I'd say is pretty amazing, the dishes I had were fragrant, had all the flavours coming out very well as they should in Thai cooking, and there was certainly no holding back on the heat, which is also as it should be. So seeing that this restaurant is in Nairobi it is outstanding ! And therefore one also needs to realise that this is not Thailand or Australia as a reviewer remarked - you do pay a bit more to get some real Thai food here. But it is worth it - for the reasons mentioned above.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Volker H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear VolkerHuls,

We are delighted to read your review and to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

We endeavor to provide only the best of service and food quality to all our esteemed guests, and showcase a little bit of Thailand within Kenya. Your kind comments on the flavorsome food is the reflection of our efforts in ensuring that we do indeed provide “real Thai food where it is least expected”

Thank you once again for your truly complimentary review and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Thai Chi.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    74
    29
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The best upscale Thai restaurant in Nairobi.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This Thai restaurant is located in the Stanley hotel and although expensive in relative terms, it is also the best. Staff were very courteous and spoke perfect English and knew their dishes.
Highly recommend if you do not wish to go into the evening airtraffic in downtown Nairobi. This is also an excellent location to bring business clients to close your sales!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 47woodenshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Woodenshoes,

Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
Highlighting the professionalism of our staff is truly gratifying to read, and your compliments will be shared with the team.

We would like to echo your sentiments that Thai chi’s ideal location and ambient surroundings – provide a great escape from the hustle of the City Center, and hence, the perfect location for entertaining business executives.

We look forward to hosting you soon,

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Amazing Thai food for Nairobi”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've been to Nairobi a few times and tried "Thai" food varieties - this was the best. The food was outstanding, the atmosphere very inviting and relaxing and the staff top notch. Quite expensive, but if you're a proponent of the "you get what you pay for" philosophy, you won't be disappointed in this dining destination.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bvonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Bvonm,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Thai Chi experiences on Trip Advisor following your dining experience with us.

We are very glad to understand that your meal experience was memorable and pleasurable. Creating lasting positive impressions is one of our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praises, which will be shared with the team accordingly.

Thank you once again for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and great food.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Visiting Nairobi and staying in the Stanley hotel. Great restaurant. The service from Nicolas was exceptional. Very professional without being intrusive. Wonderful food and good atmosphere. Worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmmmmnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear MmmmmNice,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sarova Stanley and dining at Thai Chi restaurant – we are thrilled that the food, atmosphere and service from Nicolas warranted a top rating from yourself – we certainly hope to host you soon again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service... at a price.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had gone with my wife for lunch. At the outset, they do not take children below 12 yrs age.

The food was excellent - variety of starters and soup was not overflowing with coconut, which is the problem in most of the Tom Kha soups around town. For the palate that can manage the chilli levels, they give healthy doses.

I would definitely go there again and will recommend others. However, due to the no under 12 yrs policy, my experience for the near future will be limited to lunch.

P.S. Does not come cheap - having dined at almost all the Thai places around town, this is easily the costliest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacxine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Jacxine,

I would like to thank you for your visits to Thai Chi and posting your very complimentary review.
Regarding the starters and meal in general – it is very pleasing to note that you found the food excellent, we continue to strive to provide the most authentic Thai dining experience in Nairobi.

With regards to our child policy, understanding that some families wish to share the Thai dining experience with the entire family, we have relaxed our child policy on Weekend Lunch times, hence, please feel free to bring the young ones along during the weekend lunch hours.

Thank you and looking forward to hosting you soon again.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing