We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great food, great service, great attitude.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Ranked #19 of 513 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service, great attitude.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The service was fast. The manager, Mr. Titus, our waiters John and Immaculate had very pleasant and friendly attitude. They were very attentive and had good advices. The food was very tasty, hot enough, had the right amount of coconut flavor. All in all, a good experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BGolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear BGolla,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at Thai Chi, and taking the time to post a review. It is really pleasing to note that you had a wonderful experience and the staff mentioned have indeed been recognized for their efforts. It was also great to note you enjoyed the meals prepared, and our Thai Chefs got the flavor balance just right – it will be our pleasure to host you once again.

Thank you,

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    72
    27
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Thai cuisine by a Thai chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

It's not the same as visiting Thailand, but the offerings at the Thai Chi are as authentic as they can be in Kenya. (Don't mind the name of the restaurant, cheesy as it is.)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Ellen P,

Greetings from the Sarova Stanley, it was a pleasure hosting you at the hotel, and I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our services, including the Thai Chi Restaurant.
We pride ourselves in offering the best Thai dining in Nairobi, and wish to offer all our guests as authentic a Thai experience you can have within Kenya, from our décor, menu and service – thank you for recognizing this, and we do hope to see you soon again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Thai Chi is by far the best thai restaurant in Nairobi. The food, the service and the ambiance are all great, but you'll pay for it. For those of you on a budget, probably not the best place to visit. Another positive, like most Thai restaurants, Thai Chi is Vege Friendly.

We wish we could visit a bit more often, but unfortunately, it's located in town and we hate fighting traffic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rsidhpura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Rsidhpura,

Greetings, I would like to thank you for being a regular to Thai Chi and the team and I really appreciate you taking the time to post your highly complementary review.
Thank you for stating that we are the Best Thai in Nairobi, this is high praise indeed, and is supported by the numerous awards we have won this year – including best restaurant in a hotel.
Hope we see you soon, and please be sure to use our valet hotel parking services, so as to help ease the hassle of towns traffic.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai food to a T”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Well we go here once every month and we love this place completely. The food, the ambiance, the staff, everything put together is awesome. If you like Thai food, this is THE place to visit when in Nairobi.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Shazad,

I would like to thank you for your very complimentary review and your continuous visits to Thai Chi.
We are particularly pleased to learn that our efforts to make the restaurant a true Thai experience have been appreciated by yourself.
I am glad you had a pleasant dining experience, and the team and look very much forward to hosting yourselves once again.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“very dissapointed - but Ravi stated changes will be made”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

That evening we decided to book at the Stanley's Thai Chi restaurant. Booking was not difficult. When we entered the restaurant was half full and we were very warmly greeted by the staff all in Thai attire. The ambiance of the restaurant was grand but very dark [difficult to read the menu] As the menu was difficult to read we were told that we would be assisted by a waiter For starters i ordered the Tom yam soup and my wife asked for grilled prawns the waiter showed my wife the item on the mennu which sted freid prawns - but the waiter assured us that they were grilled prawns. My starter was okay, not like a Thai Tom Yam soup, but similar. My wife got s few white balls of something which she found did not taste like prawns at all. She asked the waiter that these were not grilled prawns and she would not have this dish. It took our waiter a long time before he decided to take away the dish. By this time I had finidhed my starter. The mains were okay. A more senoir water explained that this was a dish with mashed up prawn with a variety of other ingredients but not grilled prawns. We left the restaurant disappointed.

Whilst eating the starter at the Thron tree restaurant the next evening,. Ravi the deputy food and beverage manager came to us and inquired about our evening the previous day. I was amazed that he took such an interest in our dissapointment. We explained everything to him and he stated that he would be making changes to the menu and also be looking into staff training. I thought that was so good Full marks for customer service. To top it up he waived our dinner bill charges. Despite our initial dissapointment, Ravi took so much care and attention to ensure our visit was not marred by this one incident that he must surely be one of the few hotel managers in the world worthy of 6 stars!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MO553RO655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear MO53RO55,

Thank you for visiting Thai Chi and providing us with your detailed review.

We have noted all the points raised and can assure you the relevant actions and trainings necessary have been acted on.

We would be delighted to host you once again and ensure that your experiance at Thai Chi exceeds all your expectations.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing