We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Thai Chi, Nairobi”

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Ranked #21 of 574 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Thai Chi served up some amazing food, and Matilda, the hostess and Chef Poo were extremely hospitable and friendly. We had the Thai Papaya Salad, bok choy, a duck special and hor mok ta lee (seafood curry) with rice - each fresh and tasty. Both Matilda and the Chef were so welcoming and warm, and they made the trip even more special! Highly recommend this restaurant for authentic Thai food, but be prepared to splurge!

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juri2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our award winning Thai Chi restaurant. It is greatly appreciated.

We are particularly pleased to learn that our efforts to make the restaurant a true Thai experience have been appreciated by yourself – especially the cuisine, which is prepared by our very own Thai Chefs. The staff mentioned are key members of our team and it is lovely to note that they were extremely hospitable, they will be acknowledged for their efforts.

I am glad you had a pleasant dining experience and it was indeed a pleasure to host you.

Welcome back,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 181 of 283 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

My fiancee and I have enjoyed two amazing meals here the last three months. Having been to a number of cafes, restaurants and other eateries around the country, we both agree no food in Kenya comes close to this. The restaurant has a soothing atmosphere, the waiting staff is hard-working, very knowledgable and intends to meet your every demand. You are greeted by the big smile of the wonderful Matilda. Alex the waiter will stop at nothing to make your experience something special. Titus the manager is so kind, professional and genuinly interested. It is not a cheap restaurant, but it is worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeonD89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued support and very generous review – rating us as the best in Kenya is high praise indeed, and has brought great pride to the team.

We appreciate you making a special mention on your experience specifically on the soothing ambiance and the attentive staff and are thrilled you enjoyed our services.

Titus and the team have been passed on your kind words and they are looking forward to hosting you and your fiancé once again.

Thank you once again,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I visited the restaurant for our wedding anniversary, great service, great food and great ambience. We enjoyed every moment of it. They could do more in terms of special occasions and pricing ( Abit over priced) Keep up the good work though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NjiruAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing to spend your wedding anniversary at Thai Chi and for your most complimentary review.

Fantastic to note we exceeded your expectations in terms of service, food and ambiance and it is very pleasing that you enjoyed every moment at the restaurant. At Thai Chi we strive to create lasting pleasant memories for all our guests, and I can assure you on your next visit we shall ensure that we recognize your special moments.

We very much look forward to hosting you again,

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Its a nice restaurant in the hotel with all the offering for the thai food lovers as i find it nice as i am not a very good lover of thai food.

Thank Sadiq S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to dine at and review our Thai Chi restaurant. It is greatly appreciated.

We are particularly pleased to learn that our efforts to make the restaurant a true Thai experience have been appreciated by yourself – especially the cuisine, which is prepared by our very own Thai Chefs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and restaurant soon.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

i had a lunch meeting here with friends and indeed, albeit the price tag, they do have Great food with great ambiance!

Thank DominicM969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us over lunch and review our services.

The restaurant offers the eclectic Thai experiences from the food, the traditional sitting, to the general décor and I am pleased that your dining highlight was the Great Food and Ambiance.

We look very much forward to welcoming you once again.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing