We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good food, nice ambience, overpriced, service good but trying too hard at times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Ranked #19 of 465 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, nice ambience, overpriced, service good but trying too hard at times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for work so was an easy dinner on my first night. Lovely food but not the greatest Thai in the world. Very good considering where it was, but they have their clientele sorted. My request for standard water was ignored and I got much more expensive san pellegrino, although I wasn't complaining. Welcoming service although a little too obsequious. fine if you have no other choice, money to burn or want a treat but I think there are better places in Nairobi.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneandJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Thai Chi restaurant. It is greatly appreciated.

We are particularly pleased to learn that you viewed our food as “lovely” and service as “welcoming,” regarding the water provided, we have since sourced and introduced alternate brands – which match the aesthetic of the restaurant.

We are glad you had a pleasant dining experience and it was indeed our pleasure to host you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and restaurant soon.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    68
    26
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food, but totally overpriced!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Stanley Hotel and went to the inhouse restaurant Thai Chi. Although service and food was very good, it was totally overpriced. We ordered a Thai green curry US$20 and had to pay a further US$10 for the rice or noodles. In contrast you can have a complete gastronomic experience (world calls) at the Fairview hotel (Pango Restaurant). 3 courses worked out cheaper.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SA_Business_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Stanly and taking time to review Thai Chi.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your meal experience with us and highly appreciate your feedback and have taken a keen interest in the issues raised. We have re-looked at the entire pricing range of the restaurant this year – and in retrospect, we are competitive when it comes to fine dining restaurants within hotels in Kenya.

I am glad you had a pleasant dining experience and it was indeed our pleasure to host you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and restaurant soon.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

One of those few restaurants that I would visit again and again! The trouble with many Thai restaurants is that they don't give you the 'Thai' feel, and this isn't the case with Thai Chi! There is an exotic feel to it, the entrance is magnificent and the overall service is awesome. Although prices are a bit steep, it is difficult to complain, given the quality of the food and service! I haven't had a better tomyam soup (used to have it everyday in Malay) in ages. Totally recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zachrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Thai Chi restaurant.

We appreciate you making a special mention on your experience specifically on the “Thai Feel” of the restaurant. The restaurant offers eclectic Thai experiences from the food, the traditional sitting, to the general décor and we are pleased that you found this agreeable.
Our Tom yam soup is one of our signature dishes – and am glad you rated it very highly.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our services at Thai Chi, we strive to achieve and maintain the same standards throughout the Stanley.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and restaurant soon.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

One of the fine dining places in Nairobi and definitely a must for Thai food lovers.

The ambiance and service lives up to the 5 star rating... the food however deserves special mention, the flavors are exquisite!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nabata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Thai Chi restaurant. It is greatly appreciated.

We are particularly pleased to learn that our efforts to make the restaurant a true Thai experience have been appreciated by yourself – especially the cuisine, which is prepared by our very own Thai Chefs. I am glad you had a pleasant dining experience and it was indeed a pleasure to host you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and restaurant soon.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
1 review
“Delightful, tasteful and delicious…”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Lucy Imali, the restaurant manager, is a master at her craft, successfully convincing me to give the Thai-Chi a try while recently staying at the Sarova Stanley. From the moment you enter through the beautiful entrance, one is teleported to a place of supreme service, friendliness and fantastic food! The pleasant ambiance is a crucial supporting element to the overall Thai-Chi experience. Receiving resourceful advice on culinary options, I opted for the honey glazed duck. The presentation of the food, the food and the overwhelming service excellence made my experience at the Thai-Chi a most satisfying and memorable one. A big thank you to Lucy and your team.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raphael_Online353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing