We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vegetarian Options”
Review of Misono

Misono
Ranked #28 of 557 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Options”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Went for the first time with my friend after a good kickboxing session at the gym. I had the miso soup and veggie fried rice. Based on what others are saying, I would like to go back and try the sushi!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sushidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    50
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Terrible Service!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Great sushi place and very authentic. The food is delicious and the atmosphere is authentic. However, the service is absolutely awful. Going there with 4 friends, they had forgotten utensils, plates, bowls, glasses for either of us in turn. And the staff really appeared as if they couldn't care less which is a shame as the Japanese owners really appeared to do their best.

The food is worth it though so swallow the pill and be patient with service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pascal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

One of the best sushi places in town! I love their salmon. Nice atmosphere. Tapenyaki not bad either. We are regulars there.

Helpful?
Thank Wiebke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Japanese food”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The sushi is really good but on our last visit the service was very slow and I am not sure if I will return despite it having been a favourite for many years.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Boomjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Tokyo Restaurant in Karen has always been my favourite Japanese joint and now Misono. Surely, the best place for Teppanyaki. A bit on the higher side. Roughly $35 per head. If you're a Sashimi and Sushi fan, ask for assorted Sashimi and Sakura Sushi platter with some Dynamite rolls...enough for 2-3. Do not expect sushi grade salmon in any Jap restaurant in Nairobi...and yes, no fugo either.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nimish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Misono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing