We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little less that it was” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Misono

Misono
Ranked #30 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little less that it was”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Still one of the best in Nairobi - but a little less that it was when located on Lenana Road, Just feels different! The menu is the same by the way the food is prepared has changed a little, so has the taste

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    43
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Timor
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Upsetting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I ordered Teriyaki fish and got a big piece of fish without Teriyaki sauce, it was just salt. My friend ordered pork ginger and she got stir fried pork with vegetable without a hint of ginger. It was obvious that the chef does not know the recipe. It was a serious issue to us and extremely upsetting, as we came here to eat Japanese food, and we ordered 'Teriyaki' fish and 'pork ginger', both are very common Japanese dishes available anywhere in Japan and the recipe is very simple. I request the owner to remove these two dishes from the menu until the chef gets the recipe which is available on internet. Please stop deceiving customers.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank greylourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Was excellent, can be terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Only about 2 months ago, after having visited Misono 3 times, I gave it a 5 star score.
You can imagine how disappointed we were last Monday if I rate it as "terrible" now.
Let's start with the basics. The rice. If you like the African ugali (a sort of tasteless, thick polenta-like mash) then perhaps it is a place for you. It came still quite warm and too damp, overcooked and without proper seasoning.
Squid and octopus were so hard to bite that we left half untouched.
Tempura prawn maki, sprinkled with some sort of fruity gravy. Revolting.
And the worst of all - their miso soup. Used to be great, light with a hint of ginger, the best in town. Last time, we were served a thick and heavy meat stock, probably beef, with no trace of miso taste but with jelly-like curd, again - overcooked.
We wanted to ask the staff if the chef has changed but nobody even cared to ask if we were happy, despite us leaving about 20% of what we ordered untouched on the plate.
Yes, they are still cheaper than Haru but disappointment is priceless. For their disaterous food you can pay with any credit card ;)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank otffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nairobi's best sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Regularly eat here and the sushi is probably the best in Nairobi, though being from Switzerland I am probably not the world's expert on sushi.... Service great, atmosphere always lively.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Crowded, Noisy, Terrible Service, Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The restaurant was very crowded with one particularly large group who were extremely noisy and seemed oblivious to the fact they were ruining the evening of many of the other diners. This ruined the whole ambience of the restaurant as it was like trying to eat and have a conversation while a pack of baying hyenas were alongside! The service was extremely slow and until the staff were asked no serviettes were provided, ice for drinks had to be asked for at least 3 times and the weird metal chopsticks provided were difficult to use until finally wooden ones arrived after being asked for. The staff were polite and friendly, but there seemed too few to deal with the number of diners, so I don't blame poor management rather than poor staff or the poor service,
The only saving grace was the food which was absolutely first class and very good value. It ranks amongst the best sushi I've ever eaten anywhere; fresh, tasty, beautifully presented and prepared. I'd have to think twice about visiting at a weekend though as the noise and crowding spoilt the atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tropicopter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misono also viewed

 

Been to Misono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing