We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Surprisingly good, surprisingly inexpensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Misono

Misono
Ranked #31 of 476 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good, surprisingly inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

When you ask Nairobi residents where to go for sushi, 9 out of 10 will send you to Furusato. One will have no clue. None will send you to Misono.
Funny enough, if you are a piscevore (just invented the word, it's like carnivore but for fish eaters) you will not be disappointed.
The venue looks like a typical Japanese restaurant, not one of those fancy, new age places. Simple, comfortable with enough space between tables to ensure privacy. No loud music, but no deadly silence either. You can talk to your mates without being heard by the others.
The service is prompt and friendly. The bills are accurate. No problem at all.
Simplicty rules sushi and sashimi. You will not find bizzarre rolls, nor off the wall experiments of the chef. The fish is fresh, the cuts, rolls and nigiri are of proper size. The presentation is just correct.
Should you prefer something on the hot side - check their teppanyaki. Nothing to complain about. For a very reasonable price (under $50), you will have it all: prawns, lobster, excellent quality beef, pancakes, fried rice, miso soup and salad. Dip your food in three different sauces that remain the chef's secret... delicious.
We have been to Misono 3 time in the past 2 months. They are constent. Consistently good. My favourite sushi place in Nairobi.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank otffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    42
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food bad service for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I went to Misono with a group of friends. The food was really great and I loved it.
However I felt offended by our waiter but I managed to maintain my calm. He began with serving some salad and soup to everyone and left me out. Well another waiter brought them and apologized. So I actually had my starters when the others got the main. Then I had to stare at the others eat because my main was served when they were done. I was the only black person out of my 5 friends and was wondering if that might be the reason why. It was a full definition for bad service to me. My friends were not happy about it too. We would also order for wine and mine still came last.

Helpful?
Thank CrazyGracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“New location, same high standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was a frequent diner at the old Misono restaurant on Lenana Road and now it has moved to the Greenhouse Mall on Ngong Road. The mall itself is unappealing and there was risk the restaurant may have gone down-market, but I ate there recently and found that standards have been maintained and perhaps exceeded. The decor is great and carefully thought out, the staff were very welcoming and friendly, and above all the mixed sushi/sashimi set that I chose was excellent. It was busy (even mid-week) so seems to have stayed deservedly popular.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Africahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ok place, bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

OK place. Sushi was fresh and plenty of choices. Good ambience. Service wasn't great - tends to be crowded and so wait staff is not as attentive. I had to get wait staff attention several times to get a refill of water, or get ice. I ordered a rock shandy and they didn't seem to know how to make it and gave me the "ingredients to mix it".

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BwT_2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistent quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This is one of mine and my wife's favourite restaurants in Nairobi the food is consistently delicious. We love the sushi and sashimi. The atmosphere is busy and watching your food being prepared while sipping some wine is extremely relaxing. The staff are very attentive without being intruding at all. We go here about every 6 weeks, drawn back here by the spectacular food, atmosphere and service. Fully recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nickytom82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misono also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Misono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing