We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but poor hygiene and horrible service.”
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Ranked #7 of 566 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food but poor hygiene and horrible service.”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We would joke with friends that the food at Habesha must be really great because we keep going back inspite of the bad service and poor hygiene. But yesterday it stopped being funny.The waiters are usually rude but this time, we got one who yelled at us. Then they loaded stuff on our bill that we had not taken. When we complained about all this, the owner and a bunch of staff members yelled obscenities at us and roughed up my friend. It was horrible. Go there at your own risk.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mukami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    141
    43
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A terrific little restaurant with tasty food.”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was my first taste of Ethiopian cuisine. Located in the suburbs of Nairobi the rooms are basic and relatively clean. The mixed curry plate served on injera accompanied by a glass of cold Stoney, was magnificent. Definitely recommended if you want authentic African cuisine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Usual dinner spot”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Food is awesome to my tongue and the prices are, although recently increased, still in good relation to what you get. Service is terrible unfortunately and it's easy to run into staff telling you even on a late evening, that you can't sit on the table near the only fire pot although it's cold and the restaurant empty - bc the owner might come later and would want to sit there..
That's the opposite of what you expect in a service oriented business. Anyway, it's like the common kitchen one usually ends his day and so we always go back and enjoy the food without taking offense by the rude staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A reminder to me!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

While I seek to help folks in their travels this review is more a reminder to me so I won't forget this incredible place. I asked the waitress to surprise me. What followed was a colorful array of vegetation and flesh. Every bite was a reminder of just how great life can be when you give yourself a chance to enjoy it. I can't tell you exactly what I had but it was a combination of greatness. It tasted like the chef loved me. In the end I loved her/him more. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Chege N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Ethiopian Food”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

A friend recommended Habesha and it was definitely worth the visit! I recommend going with a larger group, because most of the dishes are communal and big enough to feed at least four people. We got two platters of a mixture of food and still had leftovers with more than eight people.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpursell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing