We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Top notch Ethiopian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Ranked #9 of 479 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch Ethiopian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Very welcoming restaurant with very fast service (a rarity in these parts!) Food was delicious, particularly the mixed dishes if you're overwhelmed by the range of options. Reasonably priced as well.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    117
    35
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have visit this place more than three times but its still not our favorite. The food is ok but not faboulus and the service is can be good sometimes but really bad sometimes - it all depends who comes to your table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and wonderful proportions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband is Ethiopian, we live in Mumbai and with the lack of Ethiopian restaurants in our city we are always craving Ethiopian food. Habesha hit the spot for us. The food portions are generous, the food is well prepared and presented and the staff is very helpful. My son loves the food and the staff were always smiling with him. We will definitely visit again when we are in Nairobi.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashraf J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Yummy Ethiopian cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Definitely worth trying once. Good outdoor sitting facility. Indoors are a bit shabby. The food was very good. Try out the avacado drink at this place!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank virajgada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Being a major Ethiopian restaurant in Nairobi, it was a bit disappointing in service but quite satisfying in the food. I had the general platter (cant remember the name) that has several meats, boiled egg and njeera. The food was very lovely and in big enough portions. One serving was enough for two of us. Their coffee which is brewed fresh from beans roasted on site is also very nice. Unfortunately the waiters looked very bored and so I did not like their service at all. There is enough parking and the location is easy to find...just after Yaya centre on the way to Methodist.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Wahogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing