We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Top notch Ethiopian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Ranked #8 of 536 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch Ethiopian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Very welcoming restaurant with very fast service (a rarity in these parts!) Food was delicious, particularly the mixed dishes if you're overwhelmed by the range of options. Reasonably priced as well.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    132
    41
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just average...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have visit this place more than three times but its still not our favorite. The food is ok but not faboulus and the service is can be good sometimes but really bad sometimes - it all depends who comes to your table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and wonderful proportions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband is Ethiopian, we live in Mumbai and with the lack of Ethiopian restaurants in our city we are always craving Ethiopian food. Habesha hit the spot for us. The food portions are generous, the food is well prepared and presented and the staff is very helpful. My son loves the food and the staff were always smiling with him. We will definitely visit again when we are in Nairobi.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashraf J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Yummy Ethiopian cuisine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Definitely worth trying once. Good outdoor sitting facility. Indoors are a bit shabby. The food was very good. Try out the avacado drink at this place!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank virajgada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Being a major Ethiopian restaurant in Nairobi, it was a bit disappointing in service but quite satisfying in the food. I had the general platter (cant remember the name) that has several meats, boiled egg and njeera. The food was very lovely and in big enough portions. One serving was enough for two of us. Their coffee which is brewed fresh from beans roasted on site is also very nice. Unfortunately the waiters looked very bored and so I did not like their service at all. There is enough parking and the location is easy to find...just after Yaya centre on the way to Methodist.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Wahogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing