We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just average...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Ranked #9 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just average...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have visit this place more than three times but its still not our favorite. The food is ok but not faboulus and the service is can be good sometimes but really bad sometimes - it all depends who comes to your table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    126
    35
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and wonderful proportions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband is Ethiopian, we live in Mumbai and with the lack of Ethiopian restaurants in our city we are always craving Ethiopian food. Habesha hit the spot for us. The food portions are generous, the food is well prepared and presented and the staff is very helpful. My son loves the food and the staff were always smiling with him. We will definitely visit again when we are in Nairobi.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashraf J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Yummy Ethiopian cuisine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Definitely worth trying once. Good outdoor sitting facility. Indoors are a bit shabby. The food was very good. Try out the avacado drink at this place!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank virajgada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Being a major Ethiopian restaurant in Nairobi, it was a bit disappointing in service but quite satisfying in the food. I had the general platter (cant remember the name) that has several meats, boiled egg and njeera. The food was very lovely and in big enough portions. One serving was enough for two of us. Their coffee which is brewed fresh from beans roasted on site is also very nice. Unfortunately the waiters looked very bored and so I did not like their service at all. There is enough parking and the location is easy to find...just after Yaya centre on the way to Methodist.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Wahogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thika, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Authentic Ethiopian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We love Ethiopian food and Habesha is the best we have had! Our #1 choice of food in Kenya!
Good service. Good locations. Nice atmosphere. Big portions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 
 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing