We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Default dinner choice”
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Ranked #7 of 553 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Default dinner choice”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

When folks are coming to town or a group of friends have gotten together and are thinking of dinner - this is our default choice. Great food, excellent value, and a great atmosphere (if you get a table out in the garden). It's not fine dinning, but at the price it can't really be beat for a good evening out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeldonWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    140
    43
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great outdoors atmosphere - excellent value”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We ate here as a group of 7 on our first evening in Nairobi. The service was very good and the speed of delivery of food VERY impressive. We had three large dishes to share between us and it worked well. When the food arrived at the table we all thought it didn't look like it would be enough - but that was deceptive as we all ate plenty and there was still a little left. The 7 various meats and veges dolloped onto large naan bases were very tasty - and the cost was extremely reasonable. The place was probably three quarters full on a midweek night and the atmosphere was fantastic. Sit outside if you can - it has a better feel to it. Desserts were a little unimaginative (we ended up having small tubs of ice cream from the freezer) Still, would very much recommend a visit here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food in a relaxed setting”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

An excellent restaurant for authentic Ethiopian food in Nairobi with a good range of both vegetarian and meat dishes. The layout is both inside and outside so when Nairobi is not in one of its cold spells is a great place to relax with friends outside and eat great food. The service is various, but again fits the relaxed way of eating Ethiopian platters.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelmoulsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
169 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice atmosphere and good value”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This cosy restaurant close to the UN Hq was indeed a pleasant surprise. We took the mixed platter of meat and vegetables which was fine for two. The Ethiopian coffee was excellent and served with popped corn. Would definately go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vitt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Maybe I just don't like Ethiopian food”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Take it with a grain of salt - I'm not so good with foods that are unfamiliar. But I don't like that spongy bread or most of the vegetable dishes (I'm a vegetarian). I do like the atmosphere. :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank gilatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing