We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent food, nice atmosphere and good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Ranked #8 of 513 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
164 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice atmosphere and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This cosy restaurant close to the UN Hq was indeed a pleasant surprise. We took the mixed platter of meat and vegetables which was fine for two. The Ethiopian coffee was excellent and served with popped corn. Would definately go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vitt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    126
    35
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Entebbe, Uganda
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Maybe I just don't like Ethiopian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Take it with a grain of salt - I'm not so good with foods that are unfamiliar. But I don't like that spongy bread or most of the vegetable dishes (I'm a vegetarian). I do like the atmosphere. :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank gilatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here many times and I'm never disappointed. Good selection of tasty dishes in a basic homely setting.
The prices are very reasonable too.

If you're new to Ethiopian try out the platters, there's meat or veg and each comes with a few small servings so you can try them out. Also try the shiro, (ground chick peas with mild spices) It's delicious!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lukus_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Casual dining & Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The food here is very good and the selection is comprehensive. The wait staff were courteous, but a little on the slow / nonchalant side. Two of us shared the vegetarian platter and a side of Shoori and there was not much left when we stopped. Atmosphere was fine for lunch - not sure how it is at night. Very good juices, too. I will return each time I come to Nairobi.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We found this by accident . Great food . Lovely helpful staff . It was an experience to get the mixed meal of seven different dishes all on a huge crepe like pancake . ( dont know the name ) it was enough for two people and only cost 800 shillings . Wine available beers . The potato and carrot dish was superb .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank compostmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing