We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Ranked #12 of 474 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Never changes... For over 10 years our family has sat around the table sharing great food with friends and family. Worth every shilling! Shiro is our favorite!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NurseMama25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    109
    34
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food is okay, atmosphere is great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I love Ethiopian food. It's probably my favorite cuisine. Though tasty, this is definitely the worst Ethiopian food I've ever had. Their dishes are just blander than what I've had in Dar, NYC, Washington DC, Oakland, Jerusalem, and from Ethiopian friends' kitchens (I've never been to Ethiopia.) However, I love the place itself. It is laid out in a network of rooms and courtyards that make it great for both large groups and intimate dinners. And as other reviewers have commented, the price is right.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ariel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Every chance I get!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is the most wonderful place to eat Ethiopian food in Nairobi!!! Service can be a bit slow, but the food is worth the wait.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leoma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Habesha - A truly refreshing experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A very satisfying evening out in the garden.Informal setting for dinner followed by great coffee "ceremony" by the fire.The staff are friendly and helpful in choosing what to order.One has to visit it to savour the experience and to get a feel of Ethiopian food and culture.The food portions are generous and quite varied.Very reasonably priced too.(review by Kirti n Kim)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KirtiKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent tastes from Ethiopia …. A Must visit place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

It was one of the most special dinner I had today from Habesha Ethiopian restaurant at Nairobi. Guys … I have only one message for you … you should visit habesha restaurant & try the tastes of Ethiopian cuisine, if you are in Nairobi … you will not be disappointed …

The coffee they served was very traditional, enriched with fragrance of frankincense & some popcorn.

Also the price was reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PrasanthAravindaksan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing