We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Spice at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Argwings Kodhek Road near Elgeyo Mrakwet junction, Nairobi, Kenya
254203755418
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 463 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spice at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ethnic ethiopian food....injera, doro wot the works this is the place to be. If you enjoy the spice and a good evening out

Helpful?
Thank Racheal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    107
    34
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very popular Ethiopian, especially for dinners. We stopped by for a quick fix of njera at lunchtime. The food was quick. We ordered a mixed dish with njera. More than enough for two! Very filling.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chansa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing value, good food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

The food is good and it is fast! The staff are super friendly. Only downside is the garden setting is pleasant enough, but kind of worn down. Still our favorite Ethiopian restaurant in Nairobi though!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinFarnworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“so...damn...cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This place seeps cool. The servers are hip, young people. As are the clientele. There are two Habeshas: the one I go to is in town.

They have amazing Ethiopian food, which is the most cost effective food available. If you go with a few friends, you can all split one of the platters and each pay something like two or three dollars for a filling meal. Beer is also cheap. And the jaded girl who works at the bar is a top-of-the-line dime.

Downside? They blast the music. If you don't love hip-hop matatu style music... haha

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coyot9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Tasty stuff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I had a really nice meal here, the food was great and I found the service to be excellent and quite quick. We sat out in the garden which was really nice. I think it's a good choice for either a quite meal or for a it group of friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 
 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing