We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in lovely garden”

Osteria del Chianti
Ranked #95 of 542 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Osteria provides the best Italian food in Nairobi. In addition to their stunning chain of restaurants, Osteria also delivers to locations in Nairobi. The launch of Osteria takeaway in the city has received a warm welcome. The Osteria del Chianti restaurant menu is by many considered the best Italian in the region. With the launch of Osteria Warwick in Gigiri this year, Osteria now offers Sushi and Teppanyaki, arguably some of the the best Japanese food in the country. Visit us today for a slice of Italy.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food in lovely garden”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting, especially in the evening. Very romantic.

Great food. Tried the pizza as well as the pasta dishes. Delicious ice cream.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank midnight_in_belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    96
    36
    25
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“just awful”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

i went back there after a bad experience last time (4-5 months ago with a tough steak).

Best thing about the place is the ice cream shop in the carpark.

We stuck to fish this time

it was tuesday Paella night. Sadly they should let the Spanish cook it as this was the most awful Paella I have had in 30 years and I have had Paella all over the world

when i brought it to the attention of the waiter he brought it to the attention of the manager who still charged us for the dish

we will never go back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We went there to have pizza with the family. All and all the pizza where ok, only the pizza rucola gorgonzola had almost no gorgonzola, you had to search for it with a loupe. The cappuccino was good, but served in a (too) small coffee cup.

We were unpleasantly suprised when we asked for the bill, the vat and tips where not included. So we ended up paying more than 1800 for a pizza, a drink and coffee, and that is not including the tips. When we made a suggestion about this to the owner, he did not seem to care. We will not be returning here, there are better and cheaper restaurants in Nairobi.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Udenjpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gorgeous outdoor restaurant, delicious genuine Italian food”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Lovely outdoor garden for a Sunday family lunch. Food delicious, staff very understanding of the needs of small children. Food very authentic.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked a table inside by the fire, when we arrived our table was given away to someone else and we had to sit outside on an empty terrace in quite a cool evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NanaApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Chianti also viewed

 

Been to Osteria del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing