We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great garden atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria del Chianti

Osteria del Chianti
Ranked #68 of 513 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Osteria provides the best Italian food in Nairobi. In addition to their stunning chain of restaurants, Osteria also delivers to locations in Nairobi. The launch of Osteria takeaway in the city has received a warm welcome. The Osteria del Chianti restaurant menu is by many considered the best Italian in the region. With the launch of Osteria Warwick in Gigiri this year, Osteria now offers Sushi and Teppanyaki, arguably some of the the best Japanese food in the country. Visit us today for a slice of Italy.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great garden atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Good food, relaxed professional atmosphere; traditional hang-out for expats, NGO - and UN- aid junkies. Garden seating with parasols, clay ovens and wood fires to keep up the temperature (and the wildfire smells). Extensive menu, not enough accessible wines though...European prices. Efficient service, good hostmanship and an overall continental Italian 'feel' to it. Worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chalky_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    94
    35
    22
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Been to this restaurant several times and each time it is a hit. The food is excellent and fresh and the staff is friendly, warm and welcoming. Always a sure bet for good food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Turgoik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Never order take out from this place!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

My colleague and I ordered a take out from Osteria CBD around 12.30 p.m today. We were advised that the delivery would take 10 minutes. Given that it's now coming to 4.30 p.m., it has now been 4 hours (a new record for delayed delivery) and we've all but given up. During this time, we called the restaurant to inquire about our order and on several occasions they hang up the phone on us, told us that we could not speak to the Manager unless we spoke Italian, that the delivery man had gone to Upper Hill and was stuck in traffic, that the delivery had come to our offices and couldn't contact us. All in all, a stressful and disappointing experience. We shall never order from this place again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pleasant ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by a friend who has eaten here at lunch time on several occasions. We decided to go for dinner and we did not have to book a table because it was reasonably early. It started to fill up after 10 pm. There was a band which was playing light jazzy music with an occasional song. The attention was swift after we had to call for service because we were sitting behind the fire place which is a bit tucked away. My friend had lamb and I had red snapper with glasses of wine, although there was a wide variety of Italian dishes available. We were able to relax and converse in a very pleasant atmosphere. A taxi was available to take me home, from just outside the gate and summoned by one of the waitresses. Value for money and I would come again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kufunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good idea, terribly implemented !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you fancy italian food just go somewhere else, except for pizza which is acceptable. I asked for a very simple pasta "al dente" and it was horribly overcooked and cold!! To make things worse, it's not cheap.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arturito_Bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Chianti also viewed

 

Been to Osteria del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing