We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret hideaway paradise”
Review of Mukutan Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mukutan Retreat
Ranked #16 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Prince Bernhard (of the Netherlands) was there many times but kept it a secret. These " royally" equiped Mukutan lodges are paradise on earth, not in the least because of the remarkable story of the life of mrs Gallmann who wrote the famous book " I dreamed of Africa", but also because of the fabulous nature, the spectacular views AND the absolutely delicious food. The great care of the personal, with managers Kyle and Lara made this magical experience complete. So don't tell anyone about this hidden paradise....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Mukutan Retreat is hard to describe as it's absolutely stunning. We were extremely overwelmed by the beautiful unspoiled nature, the design of the lodges and the dedication of all staff. Its exclusivity is something we had never experienced and afraid we will never experience again anywhere else. Something we have to mention is the knowledge and the personal touch of our guides, enthusiastic at all times. e.g. Just after dinner we heard lions and before we knew we were driving in the middle of the night to find and watch three beautiful big male lions. One wish of the whole family is to come back again! A definite recommendation. The most beautiful place on earth.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sijbrandij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Such an amazing place to visit and stay. Stunning and beautiful views of the Mukutan gorge from the lodge. Views that can't be beaten!! We also loved sundowners overlooking Lake Baringo and the mountains to the north.
Staff were excellent and provided in room dining as a birthday treat.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wyatt_jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for three nights at Mukutan and I have to say it was one of the most memorable experiences we have ever had. We arrived rather late on the first night and drove in the dark to the conservancy centre. There, we were met by a guide who escorted us to Mukutan which was about a 20 minute drive. On the way, we came across a herd of buffalo and stopped to watch them watching us. Pure magic. We got to Mukutan and were immediately charmed by the place. Our rooms had what is surely the best bed in the business, a most romantic stone hewn bath, and a huge fireplace in the middle of the room. A fireplace in the middle!

The next morning, we had breakfast on a cliff edge facing the gorge and nothing could ever beat that view of the three hills with miles and miles of forest. We then were quite fortunate to have a guide take us on a walk through the forest which was capped by a swim in some hot springs deep in the woods. Later that evening, the rain came down heavily and we sat in the common dining area with our coffee and the world's best home made cookies (the coffee was amazing but not world's best). The dining area has open air panoramic views of the hills and as we sat there, we saw a herd of elephants in the hills frolicking in the rain. Actually, do elephants frolick or am I thinking of mermaids? Anyway, I'll settle on the elephants frolicking.

I could sit here and write forever about how amazing I found this place. But I will just say for now that it is my absolute favourite destination in the world and you would be very lucky to visit it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We felt there should have been more advance notice to the guests that once one arrives at the "reception office", which is a 45 minute drive on a poor road from the conservancy gate, one must transfer to one of the Lodges' 4 wheel drives for another 40 minute drive on very poor roads. We did it in the rain, and there were no sides or canvas roll-downs to protect us from the rain. We arrived to our accommodation soaked and then had to dry off and change before we had lunch which by this time was 3:20 pm (and we had arrived at the reception area at noon in order to have the full afternoon there. We had to wait over 1 hour to be transported in their vehicle to the "retreat". Once there, it was amazing...increadible scenery, with 3 huts perched over the gorge. Open air rooms, bathrooms and eating area....was nicely decorated and appealing in every way - though be careful, the stone floors in the bathrooms are treacherous with wet feet. We had a wonderful drive to Kiki's Lookout, about 45 mins. from our lodging, for sundowners - that was memorable, watching the sun set over Lake Baringo. One other disappointment was that we had wanted to meet Kuki Gallmann. We had been told she would come to meet us while we waited for our transport to the accommodation. She never arrived. Then we were told we would meet her the next day....we never did. She was there, and was busy with the upcoming Highland Games, but we were the only guests and it would have been nice if she had made the effort to meet us. One other point....you should arrange to stay for more than 1 night. Had we known how long it would take to get to the location, and then to wait around for our transport to Mukutan Retreat, it would have been helpful if they had recommended that we stay a minimum of 2 nights. It was a great experience, but there are a few things they can work on.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank mountainladycanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sveva G, Owner at Mukutan Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank You for your review and your compliments. Yes, part of the magic of the Mukutan Retreat is that it is one of the wildest and most private places on earth, so getting here in rainy season can be a little challenging. That said, in 2010 we had unusually heavy rains, we have do from Nairobi we would certainly recommend a minimum stay of 2, ideally 3 nights. Many Guests want to meet Kuki Gallmann. She is exceptionally busy running many, many projects and often in very remote parts of the conservancy but usually if we have advance notice that guests are interested to meet her she will make special arrangements to be able to do so and will often come to the Mukutan Retreat for lunch or dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank marver99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Emakoko
#2 of 219 in Nairobi
204 reviews
Ololo Safari Lodge
#3 of 219 in Nairobi
130 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#9 of 282 in Nairobi
91 reviews
The Heron Portico
#9 of 168 in Nairobi
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mukutan Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mukutan Retreat

Address: PO Box 63704 / Laikipia Plateau, Nairobi 00619, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing