We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Had an Eat, Pray Love moment here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 465 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion, Gastropub, Italian, Japanese, African, Sushi, European, Asian, British, Central European, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had an Eat, Pray Love moment here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This place is beautiful, I was staying in Karen and when walking saw the name and checked it out on trip advisor. I went for lunch the next day and sat in the garden, it was so pretty and quite. I got two mojitos and the steak. It was absolutely delicious. I'm less and a few blocks walk and I hope to go on my last night as well. Great staff and wonderful service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Robin M , thanks so much for trying us out and for giving us a feedback. Glad that you enjoyed the Mojitos and our famous steak. We look forward to hosting you again before you leave town. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    244
    40
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everything wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This one is probably the best restaurant in Nairobi. The food, as well as the environment are top class, the service is excellent, the garden area as well as the indoors sitting are of an exceptional good taste. You can go there for lunch, tea or dinner; on a business event or for a romantic date: it doesn't make any difference, it is always fantastic! A bit expensive, but all worthwhile. Remember to book and, possibly, ask for an outdoor sitting in the verandah near the fireplace: beautiful! The only problem? Its location is in Karen, a bit out of town, but even the trip is worth the effort.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maurizio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Maurizio P, thanks so much for the lovely detailed review. Thanks for the specific comments on our food and the atmosphere. We'd love to welcome you back again to enjoy them. Karibu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Was here two weeks ago with Parents and Family and the food was awesome. Still talking about the pork belly dish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam4travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks very much for bringing your parents and family out to experience what Talisman has to offer. We're glad you enjoyed the pork belly, I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to the kitchen team. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dar es salaam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very nice environment, and delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

1st I would like to say how nice it is to get such a good service. now the food. fantastic, delicious. I think the best is to book in advance. We sat near the fireplace, it was cozy, warm, but the garden - is just refershing... just book before you go, and get there before 13:00hrs for lunch on weekends or public holidays.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank plwaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks for the kind comments! We are delighted you enjoyed visiting us and hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Go. Satisfaction Guaranteed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We use this place as a treat every so often. This time was to celebrate a friend's visit and as ever, Talisman didn't let us down. We booked ahead as the previous weekend we couldn't even get a table. The food, as always, was exquisitely presented, extremely tasty and quite quick to arrive. Their selection of home made lemonades were very good, and for dessert, their turkish coffee was excellent. The atmosphere at Talisman is great - very friendly, bustling with people of all ages and nicely sited so that if you sit outside, you have the heat of a jiko (small coal heater) and the views over the gardens and greenery. I can't recommend Talisman strongly enough. Go. Satisfaction guaranteed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCD1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Wow....what a lovely review Traveller CD 1985. We are delighted that we have never let you down. Thanks for choosing the Talisman as your preferred venue to come out for a treat. Glad you enjoyed your visit, look forward to having you back anytime. Karibu! Thanks for the hearty recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing