We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Food, Great Atmosphere - shame about the waitress”
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yummy Food, Great Atmosphere - shame about the waitress”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Lovely setting, great atmoshere on a busy Saturday night in the garden, good welcome even though we hadn't booked. We chose just to have a selection of starters- making up our own Asian Tapas type thing: Pork Dim Sum, Dynamite Rolls, Thai Prawns, Prawn Tempura (outstanding!) and Feta & Coriander Samosas- all absolutely yummy! They do this Wine Flight thing where you can try 3 different wines (whites in our case) in small glasses, quite fun but not that interesting, the Pinot Noir by the glass however was excellent (albeit expensive). The only let down was our waitress who was unfortunately a bit clueless, what a shame after having read the praise for the service at Talisman on this page. My husband did make a complaint, and as a result we were rewarded with a couple of large Hennessy Cognacs at the end of our meal- much appreciated. We'll certainly be back, I'm sure the service is normally good judging from what we saw going on at the other tables around us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Connybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Cornelia B, thank you for your kind review

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the restaurant with regards to the food and the wine. We apologize about the failure of service from our waitress and hope that when you return you will have a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    320
    57
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The food is good. The feta and spinach samoosas are insane!! They are to die for. The service is good. no complaints,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kerubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon, the feta samosas will be waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“I could eat here every night”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This restaurant was incredible...great atmosphere, wonderful menu, and attentive staff. I came here both for lunch and dinner and enjoyed both very much. I highly recommend the the spinich ravioli starter, jumbo prawns, 5 piece tuna, and creme brulee. Excellent dawas as well.

It turns into more of a bar in the later weekend hours which was fun- a good, cheerful crowd.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSafari8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear JSafari8, Thank you so much for making the Talisman your first Trip Advisor review and for such kind words, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forget, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“We liked it here”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was an excellent dining experience with friends and family with a wide age range.

The food was very good and plenty of it, with a good choice of fare. The staff were very pleasant and attentive with a lovely atmosphere sitting outside, with the nice charcoal stoves to keep us warm in the cool April evening.

The food and drinks were very good value and at the end of the evening, we were very satisfied and left with a universal positive view. We will happy return again and again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your great review Adrian W,

We are so glad that you had a great time and we look forward to having you again... and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
667 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“I render...”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I thought this would be a touristtrap "we have a nice garden and will fill you with Tusker" - but I was wrong. From parking the car we met very serviceminded staff. Quickly a new table eas arranged when the sun started burning the back. Lots of patience on explaining the menu.

Had the beetroot -bluecheese starter. Superb!
Chicken breast in lemon could have taste more lemon but the chilcken was perfectly cooked. Nice mashed potatoes to it.

Relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. Clean bathrooms.
Not a touristtrap but a really good restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Hans L

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant, we have passed your comments regarding the Chicken Limoni to the kitchen to see what we can do to improve this for the future.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing