We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 475 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion, Gastropub, Italian, Japanese, African, Sushi, European, Asian, British, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Talisman is nestled in the leafy suburbs of Karen. The restaurant has a rustic feel about it and one can sit inside or on the veranda surrounded by a canopy of old trees. It gets chilly in the evenings; however they do provide portable charcoal fires places that are placed next to the tables. Food and service and good and the feta cheese samosas one of their best items’.
Talisman is not just about eating, there is a bar frequented largely by the people who live in the vicinity so has a local pub fee to it.
The patrons are friendly and one can usually join in on the conversation. The establishment also doubles up as a gallery which is an added plus as you wait for food you can have a walk around and view the paintings hung on the wall for sale.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shimuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely, detailed comment. We are glad you made the time to stop and eat with us. Come again any time. Karibu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    252
    43
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Have eaten here on a number of occasions and never been disappointed. The food is delicious with generous portions, staff are friendly and helpful. Was my choice of restaurant this year for my birthday dinner! Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks for the lovely feedback. We'd enjoy welcoming you back any time. Karibu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Place in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This restaurant is outstanding! If you think the food id great, don't miss out on the wines and the single malts! dear me, I was surprised with the selection, they had all my favorites and I am a hard to please customer. The staff is very efficient and pleasant -knowing as well-. Just perfect for a family gathering with teen agers, grandmothers and parents in a strange country and on safari.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Euggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks very much for the ringing endorsement! We're delighted you enjoyed our bar selections and hope to host you again. We're proud of our service team and are glad they met your expectations. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I love this restaurant wether I am going for lunch or dinner. There is a great choice of food and always a "chefs choice".
The setting is fabulous and the staff are very attentive. It is very popular so make sure you make a reservation first.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We're enjoying chef Marcus's adventures in food, and we can promise there will be alot of new tastes presented as specials. Thanks for the compliments on our staff, I'll be sure to pass along your kind words. Come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must for Good time out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Lovely place to have a day out, great food and amazing service. Away from the busy business center. I just love the place. With a little entertainment for the kids can be a place for family day out too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaySah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We're delighted you tried us and enjoyed what Talisman has to offer. Hope to see you again. Karibu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing