We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food in a relaxing setting”
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a relaxing setting”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I recently had lunch with my girlfriend at this restaurant. The restaurant is located in the Karen area of Nairobi; not the most convenient place to visit given the traffic but once you arrive, its totally worth it. The ambiance at Talisman is excellent with an option of rustic and cosy interior and scenic outdoor seating. We opted for outdoor.

Service at Talisman is fast, the waiters are efficient if a little cold. The food arrived within the indicated time and was fresh and very delicious. A word of caution, the place can get pretty packed and a reservation or early arrival will stand one in good stead.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks very much for the kind comments about our atmosphere, service and food. We're glad you found us worth the drive. And just think....when the bypass road is finally finished, Karen will be a quick hop from any part of town. Come back any time. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    320
    57
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in lovely setting”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Talisman is definitely one of my favourite restaurants in Nairobi but I find it better for lunch than dinner because on several occassions some of the menu options have run out at dinner, even on an earlish sitting. The outdoor seating is just as good as inside and the large tables are fantastic for dining with a group of friends. My personal favourites are the feta and coriander samosas and the seared tuna.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank very much Tiffany for taking the time to post your review. We're delighted you enjoyed the feta samosas and seared tuna. Come back and enjoy the patio and our menu any time. Karibu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Talisman is my talisman”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I think I have developed a semi-addiction to Talisman at this point....delicious samosas, inspired specials, such as the soft shell crab sandwich -- I only wish I could have eaten more! and, of course, excellent service. Looking forward to my next meal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CulinaryAnthro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks so much for the endorsement. It is always great to receive comments from our repeat customers. We look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great service and ambiance. The steak and the wine was splendid. It was pricey but it was worth it. Will be back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenMungai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks for posting this review. We're glad you enjoyed your steak and our extensive wine list. Come back any time as we often have new specials. Next time, why not try one of our "flights of wine" which allows you to sample three different vintages? Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and service in lovely setting”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Had dinner here between flights and was worth the taxi journey to arrive at this lovely setting. Food and service were great and it was a perfect setting to relax. The pork belly had been recommended and it didn't disappoint. The trio of desserts was also delicious. Don't miss this restaurant if you are in Nairobi it's great for catching up with friends and relaxing too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KJK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to find us between your flights. We're glad you enjoyed your meal and would be delighted to welcome you again next time you are in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing