We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top eatery and nice setting”
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 598 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Excellent location in Karen near the mall. We had a family meal starting with nice mojitos cool and well mixed with fresh mint leaves and fresh lime. A selection of starters consistinf of california rolls, feta samosas and chili fried prawns, all well prepared and beautifully presented. Followed with a hot and spicy red chicken curry and their signature dish, fillet of beer with wasabi hollandaise and grilled veggis and potatos. you cannot go wrong in this place. For a christmas friday we did not have a reservation, but the attentive staff managed to squeeze us in anyway. Do reserve if you are planning to go and try any of the above dishes, you will not be disappointed!

Thank Xyzzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thanks very much for the kind words, and we'd love to welcome you back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 969 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have been to Talisman many times since we have moved back to Nairobi and never been disappointed. Whether it's a special, or the to-die-for feta & coriander samosas and chilli sauce, the food is excellent. Also, in terms of comparing to other Nairobi eateries -Talisman's quality and service are consistently good -not always a guarantee here. The garden is a lovely spot -kid friendly- and the restaurant is stylish and comfortable. Also a bonus-they often have different local artist's art work on exhibit. It's a bit pricey than other places -but worth it for what you are guaranteed. The only downside is that to get there (from town) you have to travel ngong road with horrible traffic often -so plan accordingly! I definitely recommend it as a lunch or dinner spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KTrigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Hi, Karis! We're always glad to hear such glowing reviews from regulars who see us through all seasons. Thanks for taking the time to post. A quick tip for reaching us without all the nasty traffic: Use the Kikuyu road "bypass" through Dagoretti to get here from the other side of town (Westlands, Parklands, Gigiri, etc.), as there's never much traffic, and you can fly on over here in no time. We've even got a Note on our Facebook page with a map to show the shortcut. Karibu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for dinner after flying into Wilson, before leaving for a midnight flight to Brussels. We had a good 3 hours to pass before having to arrive at JKO and this was a great place to relax and enjoy dinner.

There are both smoking and non-smoking sections...let them know if you have a preference. It was a little chilly inside because it's an open air restaurant. Lots of outdoor seating which would have been nice if if weren't raining. Sit by the nice fireplaces if you can. The host brought me a thick blanket which was very nice.

The food was very good...the ostrich filet was tasty and prepared well. Service was good too...no complaints.

They also have free wifi near the bar.

Thank Aranchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks much for the kind comments, and we're glad you made the time to stop and eat with us on your way through Nairobi. Come again any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I was delighted by the delicious food so fresh and so lovely, Although it was a cold night as it gets in Karen the place was so full of people. The flavours were so fresh even the dish i thought i knew would leave me with a distinct new sensation in my palette i loved every single bit of the food although I was somewhat cold because we were seated outside. I will be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lili A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thanks for the lovely comments, Lili! We are delighted you enjoyed the food; I'll be sure to pass along your kind words to the kitchen crew. Do note that any time it is chilly, we do have blankets available to wrap up warm -- and we are always happy to bring you an extra jiko. Karibu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I always bring clients and guests to this restaurant on their last night in Nairobi, which works out as going there once a month.

Talisman never fails to deliver with each item on the food being absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection.

Set in lovely grounds with experienced staff.

Try their signature feta cheese and coriander samosas as a starter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NannyL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you, Irene! It is always a joy to see our regulars, and thanks for bringing your guests to experience what Talisman has to offer. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing