We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 544 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion, Gastropub, Italian, Japanese, African, Sushi, European, Asian, British, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

If in Karen Nairobi you must go to Talisman and experience the restaurant. Good food, fine ambiance and really client orientated service. The outside is good to sit spacious tables and in general sufficient space. No interfering with the people next to you, the restaurant is a very relaxing experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pekrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks very much for this lovely endorsement. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to serving you again any time. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    303
    55
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Moorish in several ways!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place has a wonderful atmosphere, with a roaring log fire and cosy corners ,. it has excellent food and very attentive staff, and a lively bar if you only want a drink. It was well worth the journey to get there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, Ruth! We're glad you enjoyed our ambiance and felt the mood that is truly 'Talismanic'! Welcome back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Talisman is nestled in a wonderful old house. Fires keep the chill off on a cloudy day and the garden is lovely. Book ahead for large parties, but otherwise walking in is fine. You MUST have the coriander feta samosas. Pork belly is to die for and the other varying options are well worth sampling. Ask for chef's recommendations. A great place for a cozy dinner or leisurely lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neener25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks very much for the stellar review! Any time someone uses "to-die-for" when talking of our food, it puts huge smiles on our faces. I'll pass along your compliments to the chef, and come back any time. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ambiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice ambiance and food was great. My son took me for my birthday and he went all out. I suggest this for couples since it was dark in the restaurant and couples only. Big tree in the middle of the place was interesting. Menu very diversified

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucille3529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks, Lucille, and a belated Happy Birthday from all of us. We're so glad you enjoyed your meal and would love to welcome you back any time. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This restaurant is pretty far from the centre of Nairobi. Taking the traffic jam into account, you won't reach it in less than 45 minutes.

The food is ok, but certainly disappointing compared to what is written in the menu.
Don't expect anything "gastronomic" here, it is more a kind of eclectic brasserie.
The wine list is short but nice and, for once, it does contain some inexpensive wines (which is not easy to find in Nairobi).

Although the service wasn't very friendly, the live band playing music is a great plus to warm up the place.

In conclusion, unless you're living close to it, it is not worth the travel to there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benoit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
We're certainly sorry to hear you were disappointed, as we're very proud of Chef Marcus and his team, who are working to use the best local, fresh ingredients to produce meals that are well above average. We hope you'll come again and give us another chance to wow you. This Friday we had ten people make the drive from Gigiri (opposite side of town) to enjoy a meal and hear the band, so many people do find it worth the drive. We'd like to change your mind as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing