We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and fantastic food”
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 609 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Talisman is nestled in a wonderful old house. Fires keep the chill off on a cloudy day and the garden is lovely. Book ahead for large parties, but otherwise walking in is fine. You MUST have the coriander feta samosas. Pork belly is to die for and the other varying options are well worth sampling. Ask for chef's recommendations. A great place for a cozy dinner or leisurely lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Neener25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thanks very much for the stellar review! Any time someone uses "to-die-for" when talking of our food, it puts huge smiles on our faces. I'll pass along your compliments to the chef, and come back any time. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,022 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice ambiance and food was great. My son took me for my birthday and he went all out. I suggest this for couples since it was dark in the restaurant and couples only. Big tree in the middle of the place was interesting. Menu very diversified

1  Thank Lucille3529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thanks, Lucille, and a belated Happy Birthday from all of us. We're so glad you enjoyed your meal and would love to welcome you back any time. Karibu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This restaurant is pretty far from the centre of Nairobi. Taking the traffic jam into account, you won't reach it in less than 45 minutes.

The food is ok, but certainly disappointing compared to what is written in the menu.
Don't expect anything "gastronomic" here, it is more a kind of eclectic brasserie.
The wine list is short but nice and, for once, it does contain some inexpensive wines (which is not easy to find in Nairobi).

Although the service wasn't very friendly, the live band playing music is a great plus to warm up the place.

In conclusion, unless you're living close to it, it is not worth the travel to there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Benoit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

We're certainly sorry to hear you were disappointed, as we're very proud of Chef Marcus and his team, who are working to use the best local, fresh ingredients to produce meals that are well above average. We hope you'll come again and give us another chance to wow you. This Friday we had ten people make the drive from Gigiri (opposite side of town) to enjoy a meal and hear the band, so many people do find it worth the drive. We'd like to change your mind as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Once again, Nairobi did not disappoint on the restaurant front. The ambiance at this restaurant is fantastic (outdoor dining available) as was the menu and the food. This is a regular dining choice for a friend of mine that lives locally in Karen. However, consistent with most of the restaurants we encountered, service was kind of slow despite letting our waiter know of a tight schedule one of us was on. If you have a couple hours to enjoy your dining experience then this is must try when you are in Nairobi.

Thank dcchick1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We are very glad you enjoyed our ambiance and food. We want to ensure service is quick and consistent and would appreciate any feedback you can provide about the date and time you came and who took care of you during your meal. Staff training is ongoing, and we're working hard to improve service times . Please feel free to drop us a line through our website or Facebook page. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited this August with my sister who is a Nairobi resident. She voted this her number 1 restaurant in Nairobi. The atmosphere was lovely sat outside with hot coals burning next to you in the frog chimneas.

Staff were friendly and attentive.

The steak I had was first rate - best meal I had across my whole visit.

It's not inexpensive but uk comparable prices and well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hollydagnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thanks so much for the kind words, Holly! We're delighted your sister gave us such a ringing endorsement and that you enjoyed your meal with us. I'll be sure to pass your compliments to the chef and our staff. Come back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing