We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for dinner”
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 593 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our party of 5 ate dinner at Talisman during a recent stay in Karen, and enjoy it thoroughly. It has a very pleasant and vibrant ambiance, with interesting and warm decor, the service was excellent and helpful, and the food very tasty. We especially enjoyed the feta and coriander samosas. I ordered sautéed mushrooms, which were quite delicious. Although we ate inside, there was a nice outdoor area for warmer evenings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Malia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks for the kind words. We'd love to have you back again to try us in warm season when you can really enjoy the patio. Karibu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,012 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Talisman was recommended to us by Chris at Jungle Junction, as a good upmarket "colonial style" place to have a meal. It's exactly that. It's tastefully done; the vibe and atmosphere was good, it was peaceful but not dead; the food was good and the service was great. Free wifi was good. Their cocktails were particularly excellent - we really enjoyed their chilli passion martini!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bazyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks for the great review (and thanks to Chris for recommending us!). We're delighted you enjoyed your meal and would love to welcome you back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited Talisman on Friday night and it was a bit of a disappointment given the great reviews received on TA...

The service was friendly and efficient, great. However, the fact that the kitchen closed at 22:00 was a bit strange given the fact that the entire place was filled to capacity around this time (we arrived at 21:20 and were informed that we need to get our order in asap if we wanted to eat).

Fine, the above I can still live with. However, the food was, at best, average. My burger missed some of its advertised toppings. I had asked for french fries (one has the option for thick-cut or thin french) and the bulky chips arrived. Felt a bit mass-produced to be honest and pricey for what was offered.

Would rather go back to Urban in Westlands if wanting a good burger!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MartinK2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thanks for the feedback. Our kitchen hours are given on our website and on our Facebook page. The kitchen closes at 10pm Tuesday to Saturday and 9pm on Sunday. Our bar remains open past kitchen closing times, of course, and we always have a full crowd on weekends, as Talisman is a popular gathering place for locals. If you'd like to come in late, you can always call in your order ahead, and we'll have it ready when you arrive. The full menu is on our site at thetalismanrestaurant.com for your convenience, and we post chef's specials regularly on Facebook. We'd love to have you try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a lovely meal here and the staff were attentive, bring us an outdoor heater when they noticed my daughter shiver. We enjoyed our night and would go back.

Thank Myra68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave the feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Try us on a sunny day so you can enjoy the warmth of the patio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Highly recommended... Have had breakfast, lunch & dinner here and it's always good.
Knowledgable and helpful staff, good wifi, lovely ambiance, great wine list... I could go on, definitely worth a visit whilst in Nairobi... Keep it up...

Thank howzitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for the kind remarks. We'll be introducing some new breakfast options soon, so we'd love to welcome you back to try those. It's always a pleasure to see familiar faces.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing