We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good...”
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 598 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Highly recommended... Have had breakfast, lunch & dinner here and it's always good.
Knowledgable and helpful staff, good wifi, lovely ambiance, great wine list... I could go on, definitely worth a visit whilst in Nairobi... Keep it up...

Thank howzitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for the kind remarks. We'll be introducing some new breakfast options soon, so we'd love to welcome you back to try those. It's always a pleasure to see familiar faces.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,028 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Last weekends (25th may,2013) we 5 friends went to talisman ... it was like a long drive to Karen and after reaching there we all found that its really worth it .. i just love the place .... Food was good but will not say excellent ... and price is high specially soup one Tom Yum Goone cost 950 Kenyan currency!! One week part is the waiters are very slow.. we have ordered different dishes, but the food portion was not ok for all dishes .like when we went there i have ordered rice with king prawns and for me the portion was very small for me so later on i took one extra drink and for my husband his food portion was quite good for an empty stomach ... lol... overall it’s not bad.. i will encourage people to visit this restaurant for at least one time..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ZeinTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave your comments. We're really working hard to improve wait times, and we're always interested in hearing how you enjoyed the food and what we can improve. Hope to see you again, and we're glad you felt it was worth the drive to Karen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had another excellent meal at Talisman - always delicious and pleasant atmosphere with good service. Pricey, but worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thanks very much! We really enjoy seeing repeat customers and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The restaurant is set in an interesting "banda"... The food was excellent, the wallabi steak is a good try for steak lovers. The ambience is also very good in the serene environment and there "jikos" for a cold night

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you, Michael! We're delighted you enjoyed our setting and the steak. We'd love to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The best ambience in Nairobi, relaxed outdoor and indoor areas for dining. Ate here during Thai Week and the winning dish was the duck curry; a quarter duck served on the bone with a rich and spicy red Thai sauce, ginger, lemongrass and pineapple. As a regular visitor to the
Talisman I've realised it's easy to become complacent when faced with consistent high quality but this restaurant is great. A good place to come with friends, for a quick business meeting or a date. Expect to pay about 6,000/- bob for two including beers, wine, starters, mains and a dessert. If you've not visited the Talisman you're missing out on some of the best food that Nairobi has to offer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bushpig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thanks for that ringing endorsement of Thai Week! We're enjoying our ventures into new foodie territories and are delighted that you came along for the ride. We'll be sure to pass your compliments to the chef, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing