We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect evening”
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 609 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have been resident in Karen Nairobi for two months and just came back from our first evening out with our seven year old son - the food was outstanding, the service outstanding - the waiter gave us the specials and left us to persuse for the right amouont of time - good amount of time betweene each course......we told them we wanted a non smoikking table and we had a 7 year old with us and they had already reserved a cost table by the fire for us to keep our little boy warm........not too much waiter intrusion - perfect - what more can I say - will be going again as soon as we can.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angelamcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Welcome to Karen! We're so glad to have you in the community and welcome you back any time. So glad you enjoyed both our menu and our service. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,094 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

We loved our experience at the Talisman Restaurant. The food, atmosphere, decor, ambiance..everything was perfect!! Meals were very well portioned and very fairly priced!! Christine was most gracious and a true professional!! A must have experience when you come to Kenya.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rashid Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

It was a joy to have you here, Mahmood! So glad you enjoyed your meal with us, and I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Christine. She's a gem!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

There is art for sale - sometimes excellent - a bar which is comfortable and cosy - lots of outside for sunny lunches and cosy evenings with a fire and lots of places to hide a party. They also make the best cheeze samoozas and the best crunchy sushi. And you are likely to bump into friends there.

Thank LynnSpouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thanks a lot for the recommendation! We're proud of our ambiance and are always happy to see friends bumping into each other and enjoying what Talisman has to offer. Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Last week we visited the Talisman Restaurant twice whilst staying in the Karen district in Nairobi. What to say, excellent food in a nice atmosphere. Absolutely worth a detour. We are looking forward visiting again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ArtbyJos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thanks so much for the kind words. We're delighted you recommend a detour to get to Talisman, and we hope you'll be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I sat outside with a couple of friends and we had lunch. The waiter, I think his name was Stephen, did a great job and was very attentive as he made sure we were comfortable. I had the Poached Norwegian Salmon, which was really nice and the Passion Mojitos there are divine! Please try one and see for yourself. The setting in Karen's green leafy suburbs makes the outdoor dining experience worthwhile. Overall I loved the place and food. Thanks guys, will definitely be visiting again since I live 15min away :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SofieKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thanks so much for the lovely review. We're delighted that you enjoyed the garden and the food and look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing