We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Talisman” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion, Gastropub, Italian, Japanese, African, Sushi, European, Asian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Talisman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I always love to eat here, the food is outstanding and always something new and different. A great place to enjoy going with special people. A wonderful place to be

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Iris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks, Iris! We're glad to know Talisman is tops on your list, and we hope to see you again soon when you're in Nairobi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    274
    48
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you go to Nairobi, you must visit Talisman. The plates are of high quality and strike a tasty balance between classical and innovative. The lush vegetation in the courtyard provide shade and along with the meal most of your senses should be tingled. Lastly, do not miss their puddings which by full live up to their starters and mains. Even something as simple as a 'Sunday' is made an extraordinary experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ida N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you so much, Ida, for taking the time to tell us what made your Talisman experience such a special one! We're delighted you enjoyed the garden ambiance and especially our menu. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

It is a cozy restaurant in Karen. Food is great and service is fast and efficient. Sat outside under the trees and the ambience was good

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks so much, Christine! We're so glad you enjoyed our beautiful garden and the service. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

When I was last in Nairobi I visited the Talisman on many occasions and I would highly recomend it not only for the varied and delicious food but the ambiance and friendliness of the staff.
Marianne and John Wilkinson

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne18411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks so much, Marianne! We're delighted you've enjoyed our atmosphere and friendly staff and look forward to seeing you next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK Exerperience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was excited to go to Talisman based on all the reviews. I was impressed by the table selected for us by the fire and the welcome we received when we arrived.

Folks had mentioned it was a good family restaurant so I was expecting a high chair for our 11 month old baby but that was not available. I did see the playground they had which would be a big plus for older kids.

Decent wine list for Nairobi and pleased with the selection by the glass. The ambiance is lovely and would recommend a lunch or brunch visit to enjoy during the day.

I truly enjoyed my ostrich pate and 4 forest mushroom Gnocchi. Very flavorful and satisfying.

My Fiance did enjoy his salmon appetizer however he was NOT impressed with his grilled local his fish and had to ask to have it cooked more. If someone was not pleased with their dish and had to send it back for further cooking, typically you are not charged or offered something else. This was not the case here so I feel that they could have handled the situation with better finesse and concern. This was the issue of the inexperienced server we had. He was a nice young man but not experienced.

Overall I would say this is a nice place but for the money and the very expensive cab ride from the city center (be sure to ask on the price before you go) I was expecting more. The experience could have been improved with a more knowledgeable and professional wait person.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. We're sorry about the undercooked fish. Any time a dish is not up to par, we want to do our best to make things right. We do have some new servers on staff who are learning the ropes, so thanks for your patience. We'll work harder to make sure everyone's on the same page when it comes to service. Glad you enjoyed our atmosphere and found a warm welcome. We're very proud of our place and our team and would love to have you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing