We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The gem of Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
320 Ngong Road | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 463 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion, Gastropub, Italian, Japanese, African, Sushi, European, Asian, British, Central European, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The gem of Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

When you step into talisman you find yourself surrounded with the most amazing atmosphere. The food, service and management is something hard to find anywhere, let alone in Nairobi. Keep up the good work guys, I can't wait to be there with a cold drink and your amazing creations again! Make this part of your stay in Kenya, if your just on your way through or just want a break from the average. Talisman really is kenyas most unique and amazing dining experience, don't miss out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KhellyerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks for this ringing endorsement! We're really proud of our atmosphere, our staff and our delicious food, and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you're in town. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    242
    40
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Visby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Greatest restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great food (even for vegetarians), great service, great prices... And an extra plus for their events like organic farmers market

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StW739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your comments. We are really proud of our association with the Organic Farmers Market and enjoy serving the freshest local produce we can. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bring back the old Talisman”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This used to be BY FAR our favourite place to eat in Kenya. However in the last couple of months something has changed which makes me want to share here.

The waiting staff are still the best in East Africa and the setting is still lovely whether at lunch or in the evening.

However the quality and quantity of the food have both dropped in the last few months. I don't know if there have been some changes behind the scenes. We have complained about the portion sizes and food quality on more than one occasion but it seems to fall on deaf ears.

What a shame. Bring back the old Talisman please!! This place has become a victim of its own success. Perhaps the closure of the Rusty Nail means there's no local competition to keep them on their toes any more?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krautcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. It would be helpful to know what specific menu items you miss and would like to see again. We've kept most of the classic Talisman dishes on the main menu and use the Chef's Specials to introduce new and different items on a rotating basis. Chef Marcus is always on the lookout for dishes that make the most of fresh, local produce; Kenyan seafood; signature African meats like ostrich; and other favorites that draw on the best Kenya has to offer. But we still have a great fusion menu that features Mediterranean, Asian, and European tastes, and Marcus recently spent several weeks in France training with a top-rated Michelin chef. As far as portion sizes go, many people comment that they tend to be too generous, so we're working to strike a balance here. Give us another go any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Behind Artcaffe, my favorite place in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food is fantastic. I am a vegetarian and this place has plenty of very good options. The setting is amazing, the food is awesome and the service is super fast. If you are in nairobi, you must go eat here!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank infinitemass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks so much for leaving these lovely comments. We've been adding to our vegetarian selections and are always glad to hear these menu items are hitting the spot! Come on in any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Varied menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Best to book. A good and varied menu, everything is delicious. A popular haunt of local residents. Roaring fires keep you toasty during chilly Nairobi evenings.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank barazani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you enjoyed both the cozy atmosphere and our menu. Chef Marcus creates new specials each week, so come on back and try something new!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing