We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest restaurant”
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 583 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great food (even for vegetarians), great service, great prices... And an extra plus for their events like organic farmers market

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StW739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your comments. We are really proud of our association with the Organic Farmers Market and enjoy serving the freshest local produce we can. Come back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,048 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

This used to be BY FAR our favourite place to eat in Kenya. However in the last couple of months something has changed which makes me want to share here.

The waiting staff are still the best in East Africa and the setting is still lovely whether at lunch or in the evening.

However the quality and quantity of the food have both dropped in the last few months. I don't know if there have been some changes behind the scenes. We have complained about the portion sizes and food quality on more than one occasion but it seems to fall on deaf ears.

What a shame. Bring back the old Talisman please!! This place has become a victim of its own success. Perhaps the closure of the Rusty Nail means there's no local competition to keep them on their toes any more?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Krautcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. It would be helpful to know what specific menu items you miss and would like to see again. We've kept most of the classic Talisman dishes on the main menu and use the Chef's Specials to introduce new and different items on a rotating basis. Chef Marcus is always on the lookout for dishes that make the most of fresh, local produce; Kenyan seafood; signature African meats like ostrich; and other favorites that draw on the best Kenya has to offer. But we still have a great fusion menu that features Mediterranean, Asian, and European tastes, and Marcus recently spent several weeks in France training with a top-rated Michelin chef. As far as portion sizes go, many people comment that they tend to be too generous, so we're working to strike a balance here. Give us another go any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food is fantastic. I am a vegetarian and this place has plenty of very good options. The setting is amazing, the food is awesome and the service is super fast. If you are in nairobi, you must go eat here!

Thank infinitemass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thanks so much for leaving these lovely comments. We've been adding to our vegetarian selections and are always glad to hear these menu items are hitting the spot! Come on in any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Best to book. A good and varied menu, everything is delicious. A popular haunt of local residents. Roaring fires keep you toasty during chilly Nairobi evenings.

1  Thank barazani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you enjoyed both the cozy atmosphere and our menu. Chef Marcus creates new specials each week, so come on back and try something new!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The food was nothing terribly special, although the atmosphere is great. Lots of candles and sculptures around, with wooden decor. I quite liked having some wine outside in the garden.

Thank ellejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We're delighted that you enjoyed our warm, inviting atmosphere. The garden, fireplaces and candles do make a terrific setting. But we're really curious about what you tried from our menu. We're foodies here, and Chef Marcus does a bang-up job with his own signature style, so when food is rated "nothing special," our alarm bells go off! We'd appreciate your feedback, and we'd love to have you back again so we have another chance to wow you with what we can dish up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing