We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Behind Artcaffe, my favorite place in Nairobi”
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 583 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food is fantastic. I am a vegetarian and this place has plenty of very good options. The setting is amazing, the food is awesome and the service is super fast. If you are in nairobi, you must go eat here!

Thank infinitemass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thanks so much for leaving these lovely comments. We've been adding to our vegetarian selections and are always glad to hear these menu items are hitting the spot! Come on in any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,048 - 1,052 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Best to book. A good and varied menu, everything is delicious. A popular haunt of local residents. Roaring fires keep you toasty during chilly Nairobi evenings.

1  Thank barazani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you enjoyed both the cozy atmosphere and our menu. Chef Marcus creates new specials each week, so come on back and try something new!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The food was nothing terribly special, although the atmosphere is great. Lots of candles and sculptures around, with wooden decor. I quite liked having some wine outside in the garden.

Thank ellejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We're delighted that you enjoyed our warm, inviting atmosphere. The garden, fireplaces and candles do make a terrific setting. But we're really curious about what you tried from our menu. We're foodies here, and Chef Marcus does a bang-up job with his own signature style, so when food is rated "nothing special," our alarm bells go off! We'd appreciate your feedback, and we'd love to have you back again so we have another chance to wow you with what we can dish up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I had a grand time eating at the Talisman Restaurant after our excursion to the Karen Blixen House. The chicken salad was flavorful and spicy, and we loved the chicken wings and samosas. Worth a visit.

1  Thank Traveldudeworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thanks for making us part of your itinerary! We're delighted you took in the best that Karen has to offer, and we'd love to see you back here any time. Greetings to the great Lone Star state from Kenya!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The service is good and the food is equaly good. The setting and abiance is very enjoyable. If you feel like enjoying good food, this is the place to go

Thank Jaco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your meal with us! We're all foodies here at Talisman, and Chef Marcus does love to pull together amazing menu choices. Come back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing