We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Behind Artcaffe, my favorite place in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 475 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion, Gastropub, Italian, Japanese, African, Sushi, European, Asian, British, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
HCMC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Behind Artcaffe, my favorite place in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food is fantastic. I am a vegetarian and this place has plenty of very good options. The setting is amazing, the food is awesome and the service is super fast. If you are in nairobi, you must go eat here!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank infinitemass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks so much for leaving these lovely comments. We've been adding to our vegetarian selections and are always glad to hear these menu items are hitting the spot! Come on in any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    253
    43
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Varied menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Best to book. A good and varied menu, everything is delicious. A popular haunt of local residents. Roaring fires keep you toasty during chilly Nairobi evenings.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank barazani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you enjoyed both the cozy atmosphere and our menu. Chef Marcus creates new specials each week, so come on back and try something new!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The atmosphere is the best part”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The food was nothing terribly special, although the atmosphere is great. Lots of candles and sculptures around, with wooden decor. I quite liked having some wine outside in the garden.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ellejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We're delighted that you enjoyed our warm, inviting atmosphere. The garden, fireplaces and candles do make a terrific setting. But we're really curious about what you tried from our menu. We're foodies here, and Chef Marcus does a bang-up job with his own signature style, so when food is rated "nothing special," our alarm bells go off! We'd appreciate your feedback, and we'd love to have you back again so we have another chance to wow you with what we can dish up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Incredible Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I had a grand time eating at the Talisman Restaurant after our excursion to the Karen Blixen House. The chicken salad was flavorful and spicy, and we loved the chicken wings and samosas. Worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldudeworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for making us part of your itinerary! We're delighted you took in the best that Karen has to offer, and we'd love to see you back here any time. Greetings to the great Lone Star state from Kenya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The service is good and the food is equaly good. The setting and abiance is very enjoyable. If you feel like enjoying good food, this is the place to go

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jaco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your meal with us! We're all foodies here at Talisman, and Chef Marcus does love to pull together amazing menu choices. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing