We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Food”
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 589 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I had a grand time eating at the Talisman Restaurant after our excursion to the Karen Blixen House. The chicken salad was flavorful and spicy, and we loved the chicken wings and samosas. Worth a visit.

1  Thank Traveldudeworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thanks for making us part of your itinerary! We're delighted you took in the best that Karen has to offer, and we'd love to see you back here any time. Greetings to the great Lone Star state from Kenya!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,072 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

The service is good and the food is equaly good. The setting and abiance is very enjoyable. If you feel like enjoying good food, this is the place to go

Thank Jaco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your meal with us! We're all foodies here at Talisman, and Chef Marcus does love to pull together amazing menu choices. Come back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

What a great place! We had read the reviews and we now understand the #1 rating. We had a super meal at the Talisman and we must recommend the samosas. They were super. We thought the servings were a little too large (but some people might like that) and we'd even suggest that you might consider sharing. We ate outside and we loved the "heaters" by the tables. The outside dining area is lovely. There was some confusion when we asked for the price of wine by the liter which was advertised on the menu and it took awhile to get an answer. We eventually got an answer. Maybe new staff who were not familiar with the menu? But overall the service and food were great.

1  Thank goodhikers1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thanks for the lovely comments, and we're so glad you enjoyed your time at Talisman. We've just recently added a group of new items to the wine list, so thanks for your patience while our staff worked out the correct price for you. Come back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

It seems that lately the Management has changed. One needs to know that it is rather touristic, Groups of rather loud foreigners may be present. Food is reasonable but not outstanding. E.g. Chocolate mousse is not a good choice. Service is quick and friendly. There is quite a distance from the city centre, even 11 km from Karen. to read the menue at night is at some dishes quite difficult.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Renrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thanks for the frank comments. Due to our growing popularity over the past year, there are some nights when we are, indeed, crowded and more boisterous. We're working on a new section to handle overflow and help keep the dining area quieter (though Friday nights when we have a band in the house will always be a bit more exciting!). Any time you need more light to read, don't hesitate to ask. We're happy to bring extra lighting to your table. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A haven of tranquility with a gourmet chef to hand but we have found tha value for money occasionnally leaves something to be desired. Most people rave about the place and it is certainly popular with the local population, Kenyan and ex-pat and tourists alike.

Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Talisman is definitely a more high-end dining experience, and the prices reflect the fact that we use only the best, freshest ingredients, including specialties like ostrich and Belgian mussels. Chef Marcus takes pride in every dish and makes sure the portions are generous and provide full value for the money. We'd love to have you back again any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing