We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 544 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion, Gastropub, Italian, Japanese, African, Sushi, European, Asian, British, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Well First of all the smell of buring timper with the chilli weather is a good start, inside the place, decoration & alot of fire places scatered makes it perfect for romantic dinner, EXTENSIVE wine List, food is great, staff is very Helpful, Parking also is avl, won't recommend if for Families with Children, Perfect for Couples, Vey Good For Business meetings, or large groups, I paid arond $30 for My dinner which was 3 Course, $80 for my Red Wine, Highly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank OmarGhaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCKenya, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thanks, Omar! We're so glad you enjoyed the romantic atmosphere and our amazing wine list (of which we're very proud!). If you want to try Talisman as a family outing, we recommend stopping for a leisurely Sunday brunch. It's outstanding, and the kids can enjoy our playground, too. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    751
    304
    55
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love to go there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Have dined here several times while staying with family in Nairobi. An experience I have always enjoyed. The covered verandahs open to the gardens and braziers on a cool night lend a very exotic ambiance. The menu is extensive, food well prepared and service good, I'm always ready to go again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCKenya, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thanks, Mac! We are so glad you've made us a regular part of visiting Nairobi. It's a pleasure to see folks come in again, and we'll look forward to seeing you next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Talisman has great food and tons of atmosphere. It is a great place for a relaxing business dinner or just to relax. We went for drinks. The only problem was there isn't a non-smoking area in the bar. Fortunately, we were allowed to sit in the dining section that was non-smoking.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leoma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great ambiance. . . scattered fires in the evenings. . . extensive menu . . . fantastic food. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsafiriK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Talisman offered very warm and personal service when we went for a belated mother's day. Both the seafood and a steak were excellent Thank you Talisman for making our day special!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMBSMBSMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We were so happy to have you come back again for a belated Mother's Day here. Really glad you enjoyed the food, and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing