We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at fair prices”
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 567 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food at fair prices”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

A varied menu for lunch and dinner with daily specials including such delights as Belgian mussels, Ostrich and Smoked Salmon. The bread is excellent. The Talian is consistently good and because of this booking is advised.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bushpig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    323
    57
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Bad service and food was less than average. I had heard lots of good things about it too which made me wonder. The ambiance was a bit tacky I felt.

Helpful?
3 Thank DesertRosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCKenya, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
We're so sorry your experience didn't match your expectations. We'd love to change your opinion, so if you're still in town, please stop back by for a free drink and a starter. We also always appreciate feedback so we can make our service even better. If you've got any suggestions, feel free to send us a message through our Facebook page or give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great starters”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The samosas are to die for... and also the pork belly - excellent.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tryanythingatall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An excellent outdoor restaurant”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I make a point of going to this restauarnt on every visit to Nairobi. I have lost count of the number of times I have been. The food is excellent and its outdoor setting is wonderful.

Forturnetly it has not be discovred by too many tour groups........... ...yet. Shhh don't tell them.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LongHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fridays the KCs come out to play, but the food makes it a good show”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a garden restaurant with a well thought out menu, some absolute winners are the feta and coriander samosas, the chicken wings and the Knickerbocker Glory.

The art gallery and farm house decor lend a sense of something special to the restaurant, as did eating on the verandah during a classic Nairobi downpour.

On the Friday we were there, there was a live band and the KCs (Kenyan Cowboys) made good use of the dance floor. A good night out in Nairobi and a chance to observe the indigenous wild life.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZimKait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing