We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel LaMada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel LaMada
Ranked #88 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in La Mada for 7 nights. The hotel is in a fantastic location on a quiet road on the outskirts of the city. The hotels lies right on the edge of a beautiful forest with fantastic views and wildlife. The rooms were decent standard, cleaned every day, had ac and a safe which was free to use. The bar and restaurant area were fine and there was a nice outside terrace. Breakfast was good and bar prices were reasonable. The pool was beautiful, surrounded by huge trees and an amazing back drop over the forest. Staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

For a nice, relaxing stay on the edge of the city, this is for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madahotels_11, Manager at Hotel LaMada, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Tom

Thank you for being our valued customers. We are grateful for the pleasure of serving you and meeting your needs.

Looking forward hosting you in the future and welcome again to Mada Hotels

Warm wishes,

Martin Thinji

Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at La Mada for a full week while on a mission trip in Kenya. The hotel rooms we stayed in were clean - bathrooms were nice and water was hot! Also, the grounds surrounding the hotel were very pretty and green.

The staff was very friendly & accomodating, the food was just OK and the wait time for food was really bad. All in all it was a nice stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DHerrold73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madahotels_11, Manager at Hotel LaMada, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks a lot for that good review about Hotel La Mada. You have proved to us and the other guests that Hotel La Mada is truly a Nice place to relax and accommodation.

Thanks in advance for choosing Hotel La Mada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I took our daughter and I for lunch on a Sunday Afternoon. Their property is very good-clean and Spacious Service. But we did not enjoy their meal. It was cold and undercooked. Furthermore their service was too slow. I think they need to train their waitresses to be efficient. This was my experience, your could be positive. Nevertheless it is a good place to have drinks with family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madahotels_11, Manager at Hotel LaMada, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks a lot for taking your time to review Hotel La Mada. we have seen that you had a great time but the restaurant service was slow, all has be rectified and you don't need to wait for long, the service is instant, the food is good and i hope you will enjoy every minute

Thanks in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This beautiful hotel is located at the outskirts of Nairobi. It's is immersed in nature, surrounded by green vegetation, in a quiet atmosphere. Staff are very kind, polite and helpful. Mr Martin, the manager, has been ready to accommodate all our requests. Rooms are nice, reasonably arranged, and, as the rest of the hotel, kept very clean. At night, it was very quiet, peaceful during my stay. There is free internet (wireless) access, which is an added plus. While sitting in the garden for breakfast, I have each time seen little monkeys jumping in the vegetation nearby and even on the roof, but without coming too close or causing any problem to the guests; it’s another attraction and a reminder of a location close to a forest. Traffic in Nairobi is pretty busy; it took me about an hour and a half to reach the hotel from the airport and viceversa, so it's good to take this into consideration. It's a good location for a meeting, but may be less convenient for those who prefer to be closer to and explore the city itself. It has good facilities for meetings, with several rooms of different size, as we needed in our case. At the restaurant, orders may take long, but food is eventually good. The hotel is a little expensive but worth the price. A tip: ask for the bill well ahead, as it is manually prepared with all the various receipts rather than be automatically generated through an electronic computer network system. If they established one, that would be very helpful. Overall, it's been a very positive experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItaloRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Unlike some of the new hotels I have visited since arriving in Nairobi, the Hotel La Mada has been around for many years. Located off of Thika Road not far from Safari Park Hotel, La Mada is set in lush gardens at the edge of a protected forest.

Also unlike the other hotels, this is a true feeling of being in Africa. There is a colonial era grandeur about it whilst at the same time an atmosphere that just feels comfortable. Monkeys frolic in the gardens, African music is quietly playing in the background and the staff seem eager to ensure you have a comfortable stay.

I booked one of the four executive suites which includes a very spacious sitting area perfect for welcoming visitors. A very comfortable queen bed in a separate room and a full bath with separate walk-in shower with plenty of space. The tiles are well grouted and the room was spotlessly clean. This suite is less money than the standard rooms at some of the city centre hotels and certainly is an exceptional value.

The standard rooms offer two single beds or one queen bed as well as television with satellite feed and full bathroom except there is no walk-in separate shower. These rooms have the stand in the tub showers.

There is free very good speed Internet wireless provided in the hotel. They did have a problem on the arrival day that this was not working because of a storm that had damaged their connection. But they worked hard to get it running the next morning and even called to let me know it was fixed.

I know this all sounds too good to be true and sadly there is a downside. The food service is inconsistent. Dinner on the Friday took over an hour to arrive and when it did arrive, the order was incomplete, wrong and one dish was so wrong that we could not eat it. The chef came out, apologised and replaced it with lamb cutlets and fries that were exceptional.

I had breakfast today with the executive chef and the F&B manager and discussed that they are going to look to making the menu simpler (there were so many things on the current menu) and mentioning items that can consistently be sourced so that the cooks can be trained to provide faster service. Also, it was the dilemma that there were only a few guests in the hotel so they had given the A-Team the day off. If there are groups in the hotel, they set out buffets for easier service.

With the promises that they will work to improve food service, I can very much recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra dollars for the executive suite. They are really nice. All upstairs rooms are fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvivu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

This place is certainly a nice, quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of central Nairobi but it's a fair distance outside the city so it would be difficult to call it a real Nairobi hotel. Quite small and intimate, the rooms are clean and cool with perhaps the most comfortable bed sheets I've ever slept under! The polished wooden floors are a little creaky but it's about the only noise you'll hear as the hotel is located in quite large grounds of tranquil greenery.

The restaurant is ok for a single night but stay any longer and you'll maybe crave somewhere else to dine and it is here that a problem arises. On a good night it will take 30-45 minutes to get into Nairobi proper thanks in part to the horrendous ongoing (Dec 2011) road works on the Thika Road.

Although listed as being on Thika Road, it's a couple of hundred metres off it and the signing is not great. Our taxi driver from the airport had some difficulty finding it so I'd suggest printing a map to help you get there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

LaMada is a sanctuary of serenity in the city it is like walking into a hidden sanctuary of country air natural beauty of natural springs, chapping birds with the elegance of five star hotel. Tastefully furnished, very comfortable rooms delicious meals and friendly staff.

Whether on business or on Holiday this is definitely the place to stay if your are looking for serenity within the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WanjikuWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sportsview Hotel
#81 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
The Luke Hotel
#99 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Safari Park Hotel
#23 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Utalii Hotel
#104 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
The Concord Hotel & Suites
#37 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#47 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LaMada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LaMada

Property: Hotel LaMada
Address: Thika Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel LaMada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing