We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Night Life.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galileo's

Galileo's
Ranked #411 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African, Bar, Pub
Restaurant details
Nairobi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Night Life.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Explore Nairobi by night and have some drinks at Galileo accompanied by cool entertainment for the best part of the night.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duisburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unfriendly and probably racist”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We, a group of 5 people, living for 3 months in Nairobi went to Galileo just to notice that one of our friends was thrown out barely 5 minutes after we entered. The reason was that he had not ordered a drink. How can you force someone to buy a drink in the first minutes of arrival. The staff is unfriendly and often aggressive and the manager (a white south african guy) totally unfriendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“if the management can control idle ladies there the better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

a lot of ladies bothering me calling me sweat names...too bad i went there to relax my mind not to we seduced by almost naked ladies

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WATHOME1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance-Poor controls!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have been to both Galileo's on Waiyaki way and the other in town at lifestyle shopping centre. i must say the owner has really invested in interiors and music to try and impress...i used to frequent the town one for the sweetest buffet ever during the week until they discontinued the other day. that was sad...one thing though they ail always have an excuse on why you will not get a receipt after paying. either the main cashier is away, the system is down or its not yet time for the "new shift"-its takes less than common sense to know something is terribly wrong..especially as this has not happened once or twice but ON ALL the occasions we patronised the venue!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DominicM969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Crowded with aggressive staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The staff is overly aggressive at this otherwise well-designed, nightclub popular with locals (read: no tourists or expats). From constant pushing and "direction" from security, to overly aggressive shot girls, the harassment makes this an unpleasant experience. Best nights are Saturdays with the violinist who plays along with the dance music, and Tuesdays. Don't bother trying to park - take a cab or use a driver. It's also recommended to buy table service... find a seat and watch the show...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucketlisters202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galileo's also viewed

 

Been to Galileo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing