We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Ambiance-Poor controls!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galileo's

Galileo's
Ranked #397 of 465 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African, Bar
Restaurant details
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance-Poor controls!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have been to both Galileo's on Waiyaki way and the other in town at lifestyle shopping centre. i must say the owner has really invested in interiors and music to try and impress...i used to frequent the town one for the sweetest buffet ever during the week until they discontinued the other day. that was sad...one thing though they ail always have an excuse on why you will not get a receipt after paying. either the main cashier is away, the system is down or its not yet time for the "new shift"-its takes less than common sense to know something is terribly wrong..especially as this has not happened once or twice but ON ALL the occasions we patronised the venue!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DominicM969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Crowded with aggressive staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The staff is overly aggressive at this otherwise well-designed, nightclub popular with locals (read: no tourists or expats). From constant pushing and "direction" from security, to overly aggressive shot girls, the harassment makes this an unpleasant experience. Best nights are Saturdays with the violinist who plays along with the dance music, and Tuesdays. Don't bother trying to park - take a cab or use a driver. It's also recommended to buy table service... find a seat and watch the show...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucketlisters202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Locals Hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is not a tourists spot, which is exactly what my brother and I were looking for on our last night in Nairobi. Unfortunately we'd gotten accustom to using US$ and had dumped all our KSh and when the credit card machine wouldn't accept my Visa card I just overpaid in US$ to resolve the issue. It is very obvious when you get to a spot that doesn't cater to tourists. We noticed that our first round of Tuskers was about 50% more than any other round (the Tourist Reverse Discount). We still enjoyed ourselves and were glad we got out in the city and the patrons seemed to not mind us hanging out, it was just the staff that seemed annoyed. It must have been throwback Friday because the DJ was playing all the club hits from my high school days, Skee Lo, Luniz, Coolio, Blackstreet, DMX...old school stuff. Good times!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheIowaCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“night out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

has no enough parking space for its clientele who are forced to park along a busy and risky highway. It's small in size too with no clear fire exit plan or layout. They also sell erinks to underage iids with big bodies

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tkay k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not an Asian's hub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Yup the place is very afro music kinda club. I didnt liek it simply because of music but the placegets so busy on friday or sat nights that one has to park his/her car hundreds of meters away on the highway but dont worry the parking is managed by the extra security the club hires on such nights.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank karan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galileo's also viewed

 

Been to Galileo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing