We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very interesting location but rooms need upgrading” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Posts Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Posts Hotel
Ranked #66 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very interesting location but rooms need upgrading”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel is at an excellent location. The front and back yard of hotel are very beautiful. One can see two water falls, one each on either side of the hotel.
The staff is cheerful. There are very good souvenir & handicraft shops in the backyard of the hotel. You can enjoy some bargaining experience here.
The rooms are a little old fashioned and could do with some upgrading, so does the bathrooms & TV sets in the room.

Room Tip: Go for cottages instead of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Achandaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    15
    11
    1
See reviews for
12
8
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This inn is not the typical tourist hotel, for it seems to cater more to locals than to tourists. In my view this makes it more interesting. It is an old inn, but quite well maintained and has much character. Upon arrival, the front desk attendant seemed to not want to be much bothered by us, but finally acquiesced to give me a form to fill out; then it took quite a while to find a porter to tote our luggage and show us the room.

The room was good and clean. The bath was a bit of an enigma for me because first I could not figure out how to turn on the hot water (switch outside the bathroom high on the wall) and then found it only worked in the shower (not the sink) and was connected only to the blue tap. Once I asked and go this sorted out, I had a nice warm shower. Had the porter had shown us this when we first went to the room, it would have been helpful.

The food was good and the service was ok. Although there were plethora of waiters and waitresses talking amongst themselves, we had to wait for some attention. In fact, when we finished breakfast, I had to wander back into the kitchen to search for our server so I could give her a tip! We had full board, and had asked for a box lunch ready we left the following morning. Although this seemed a completely new thought to them, to our surprise they produced a magnificent and delicious cheeseburger in a box with other goodies.

The Inn was lively while we were there, with two weddings, a graduation party and a band. It was fun to see. Security was good.

The inn has spacious grounds to walk and beautiful view of the falls, but there were not as many birds as I had hoped. I will happily go back there, but if I could gently send a message to the management, they should sharpen their customer service. In my view, the best staff person was the security guard who spent the night outside our block of rooms. He was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Milsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is in a serene enviroment a paradox because it is actually within a bustling industrial town of Thika. I loved the outdoor feeling watching and listening to the sound of the magnificent waterfall. The indigenous trees forming a forest like cover around the chania river is a site to behold. Food is of good quality, well cooked and variety is available. The service was abit disappointing though as at some point I had to get assistance from a supervisor after the shift waiter left without refunding change. The rooms are quite good.

Room Tip: Corner rooms give one a homely and private feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amkeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

This is not a tourist hotel and the atmosphere is entirely different. It is on a river with two great waterfalls that can be appreciated from the hotel grounds. The rooms are nice but not as one would find in a tourist hotel. There is a computer internet center at the hotel. When I arrived there was a band playing on the grounds and everyone was having a great time with a large local crowd. Fifteen minutes later the rain began in buckets and that was the end of that. I regret that I missed it. The restaurant was good.

Now for the best part. The birding here is outstanding. On the grounds were seen White-headed Barbets (3), Eastern Honeybird, Montaine White-eye, African Golden Weaver, African Citril, Rupple's Robin-chat, Black-throated Wattle-eye, Scarlet-chested Sunbird, Grey-capped Warbler, and Grey-olive Greenbul.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muncie_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Ngossorr, General Manager at Blue Posts Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Muncie - Birder,

Thank you for choosing Blue Post as your preferred destination while in Kenya. We are glad you had a good experience during your stay and you enjoyed the tranquility and serenity that the hotel has to offer. You will be happy to hear that we now have free wi-fi at all our outlets and conference halls. Our band now plays every other weekend and public holiday despite the weather. It is important to also note that we have fantastic bird life as you experienced though you managed to spot just a few out of the wide variety we have, we have well trained naturalists who can take you deeper into our nature trail for a greater experience in your next visit.

Asanti sana.

Regards,

John Ngossorr
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Blue Posts is steeped in colonial history (it's mentioned in Elspeth Huxley's 'The Flame Trees of Thika'). It has a very special atmosphere because of this and its location between the Chania Falls and the Thika Falls. We accepted the slightly sad appearance of the unmodernised rooms and the brave but not entirely successful attempts at English breakfast for the sake of the well-kept gardens, the space, the peace (with the sound of the Falls in the background), the friendly staff. The room itself (we had one with a verandah) was a bit gloomy, but spacious, with a comfortable bed and hot water in the shower. Internet access was available at reasonable rates.
(Beware of misleading maps: Blue Posts is not in Nairobi at all. It is just outside Thika - about 4 km NW of Thika centre).

Room Tip: The nicest rooms face out towards the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlympeDeGouges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

The place has really good grounds and a very quite place with the sound of the water falls makes you really relaxed. The buffet menu was really good, suiting every body. found no mosquitoes in the rooms though they have mosquito nets. The animal park and the guides are really good and well conversant with the animals their. Location very strategic can visit mount Kenya on a days outing and was back in time for dinner. conference was good though not very advanced. the curios were very good. note the telephone numbers working are [--], i found out the once at this site do not work.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank browndubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Ngossorr, General Manager at Blue Posts Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Browndudai,

Thank you for choosing Blue Post as preferred destination on your visit to Thika. Your kind comments are well noted and appreciated, we have since rectified the telephone number issue. we are glad you had a pleasant stay with us.

regards,
John Ngossorr
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

Very many years ago, about a century, in fact, white settlers and other travelers going upcountry from Nairobi stopped at this place near Thika town for a drink and sometimes to spend the night. Located at the site of two waterfalls, Chania and Thika, it was a beautiful place to pass a few hours.

Nowadays, there is really not much reason to come to Thika or stay here. You'd be better off staying in Nairobi, though you wouldn't get the peaceful grounds and waterfalls there.

The grounds used to be covered with hibiscus and bougainvillea, and brightly colored weaver birds were all over the place. You can still find some of the flora, but the birds are more scarce now. The grounds are still well maintained, and in the evenings and weekends, many locals come to have a drink on the open ground outside the dining room. Some thatched umbrellas have been erected at the Chania falls viewpoint, but they are never occupied, since there is no bar nearby, and no seats. Dinner was terrible, but breakfast wasn't too bad.

A small animal sanctuary has been established, costing about $3 to enter. Not worth it - you'll see an ostrich and some other small creatures. An onsite souvenir workshop should present you with some good bargains of carvings and other curios.

The rooms are pretty rustic, but they have the essentials - a bed and a clean, working bathroom. Mosquitoes could be a problem, but the hotel can provide mosquito nets. Ask for the rooms facing the open grounds towards the falls. You won't see the falls, but you'll get a nice breeze. Air-conditioning is not available.

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Disliked — Dinner, bed.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank faura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Transit Hotel
#41 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Seldom Hotel
#63 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Sportsview Hotel
#88 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upperhill Blueberry Hotel
#115 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#107 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi
#95 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Posts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Posts Hotel

Property: Blue Posts Hotel
Address: Thika-Muranga Road, Nairobi 01000, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Posts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing